Library Guides: Maths and Statistics: Recommended resources

Dictionaries and encyclopaedias

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics by Earl. R., & Nicholson. J.
Publication Date: 2021
A Dictionary of Statistics (3rd ed.) by Upton, G., & Cook, I.
Publication Date: 2014

Quick links

Ebook collections

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A database of eJournals and eBooks published by John Wiley & Sons. Subjects covered range across all disciplines: Business; Education; Law; Medicine; Science; Social Sciences; the Humanities; and the Arts.
Charles Sturt Library subscribes mainly to eJournals in this database, but in 2011 commenced subscriptions to eBooks, so results of searches might include eBook results.

Charles Sturt has access to most of this collection in full-text. It is not possible to limit a search to full-text-only results, but in the results-list the full-text items are denoted by an unlocked-padlock icon.

Users can search the collection using a simple or advanced search, and can browse by publication or subject area.

The dates of journal coverage dates vary from journal to journal.
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.

Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).

For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.

See more tips on finding and using eBooks.

Library databases

arXiv This link opens in a new window
arXiv is a free online archive of preprints of scientific papers. Hosted by Cornell University, it contains hundreds of thousands of articles in the subject fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear sciences, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
In many fields of mathematics and physics, almost all scientific papers are self-archived on arXiv. The resource includes more than half a million articles, with approximately 5000 new e-prints added every month.

ArXiv is one of many archives that is available via OAIster, a much broader but similarly free and searchable site of more than 30 million records representing digital open access resources from more than 1,500 contributors.
ProQuest Science Database This link opens in a new window
A database of more than 1,000 journals - with more than 750 available in full-text - which covers both the general and applied sciences.
Specific subject coverage includes: agricultural science; astronomy; biology; botany; chemistry; computing; environmental science; engineering; health and medical sciences; mathematics; physics; social sciences; statistics; telecommunications; and transportation.

Where full-text is not available, use the Find a copy link below the record to link to the full item, if available in another database.

Coverage extends back to 1986.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. You can search all ProQuest databases individually or in any combination. Other science-related databases in ProQuest include ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection and ProQuest Biological Science Collection, and there is a subject package available at ProQuest Science & Technology Databases.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multi-subject abstract and citation database of research literature. Known for its citation-tracking and bibliometric features.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature which offers coverage of more than 22,000 journals, and more than 150,000 books, from more than 5,000 publishers. There are nearly 70 million records and 1.4 billion cited references. Most records date since 1996 but Scopus has recently added records dated from 1970 - 1995.

Scopus does not in itself include the full-text of articles, but many records in a results list will have a View at publisher link. If that link doesn't work, use the Find it link to search for the full article via Primo Search.

Subject coverage includes:
* Life Sciences
* Health Sciences
* Physical Sciences
* Social Sciences & Humanities.

Scopus has a number of specialised features relating to bibliometrics which are mainly used by higher degree researchers. But one feature that might have wider application is the ability to use the View Cited By function to find articles that cite your selected articles(s). You can also sort your results list by citation count.

A note on access for academic/research staff: If you are academic/research staff and require access to your Charles Sturt researcher profile, please use this link - https://www.scopus.com - and sign in using the "Access through your Institution" option. Type Charles Sturt University into the search box and follow the prompts.

See all IT, Computing and Mathematics and Science databases.

Need some help with understanding how to use Library databases? See our Database Help Guide.

Websites

EuDML- European Digital Mathematics Library
An Open Access collection of mathematics literature maintained by the EuDML initiative.
Mathematics Stack exchange
A question and answer site for people studying mathematics at all levels.
Wolfram Mathworld
Free online maths resource on topics such as applied mathematics, calculus and analysis, number theory, probability and statistics.
Probability, statistics and random processes
Online free textbook that also includes videos and a probability calculator.
R: the R project for statistical computing
Free software for Statistical computing.

Professional organisations

Australian Mathematical Society
The Australian Mathematical Society promotes and extends mathematical knowledge and its applications.
London Mathematical Society
The Society's main activities include publishing mathematical articles, organising scientific meetings and lectures, and providing grants to support mathematics.
The Mathematical Association
The Mathematical Association supports and enhances Mathematics and its applications, its teaching and learning. The Association aims to provide opportunities for collaboration and communication between teachers and students of mathematics.
Statistical Society of Australia
The Statistical Society of Australia, Inc. represents Australian and overseas statisticians and aims to further the study, application and good practice of statistical theory and methods in all branches of research, enterprise and education.
Royal Statistical Society
One of the world's most distinguished and renowned statistical societies, the Royal Statistical Society is a learned society for statistics, as well as a professional body for statisticians.