EndNote is a powerful bibliographic citation management tool designed to help you organise your references, insert citations and generate bibliographies for your assignments, essays and research papers. Before using EndNote, it's important to have a good understanding of referencing and be familar with the citation style required by your subject outline, such as APA 7th.

Please note: EndNote automatically generates a bibliography for you at the end of your document. However, if information is incorrectly parsed into the wrong fields or if details are missing from a record, the bibliography may be inaccurate. This could result in losing marks for incorrect referencing.

It would be a good idea to print out the APA referencing summary and always have the guide handy when you are completing an assignment. Read the basic principles and understand how to reference a book, a journal article and websites and webpages. Remember punctuation, italics, capital letters, spacing and bolded text are all important in referencing and must comply with the referencing style requirements.

Training and support for EndNote

The library provides training and support for all students who want to use EndNote. Online library workshops for EndNote are run throughout each teaching session. These workshops are presented in a webinar format.

You will need to book to attend online library workshops.

Are you ready to get started with EndNote? Complete the Discover EndNote modules first.

The library has an EndNote library guide from where you can download the program and get started. The guide includes manuals, support and help.

You can access training videos from the EndNote training YouTube channel

You can also visit the library and ask an information librarian to help you with any problems you may be having with EndNote

• EndNote libraries are made up of two parts: the .enl file and the .data folder. These two parts must be kept together in the same place on your computer. Both are needed for the library to work correctly
• EndNote libraries should NEVER be stored in cloud-syncing folders such as Dropbox, OneDrive, SugarSync, etc. Syncing libraries with these services will corrupt EndNote libraries over time.
• Always uninstall previous versions of EndNote before installing a new version

Once you have created an EndNote Library you can begin adding references to your Library. References can either be entered manually or can be downloaded/exported from Primo Search, the journal databases or from Google Scholar.

Once references have been added to EndNote you then have the option of attaching PDFs to those records.

For more information and instructions on how to download references and attach PDFs please see Manually Adding & Editing References, Using Direct Export & Attaching Full-Text PDF Files to Records from our EndNote Guide.

Once you have added required references to your Endnote Library you can then use the Endnote toolbar in Word to insert in-text citations and reference list entries in your chosen referencing style in Word documents.

Insert In-Text Citations in Word

• Open the EndNote Library that contains the references you wish to cite
• Open your Word document
• From the EndNote Tab in Word click Insert Citation - Find Citation (Note: ensure you have the correct/required referencing style selected in the EndNote toolbar)

• Type an author's last name, keyword or year into the search box & click Find
• From the list of results choose the appropriate reference
• Click Insert

For more information please see EndNote & Microsoft Word in our EndNote Guide.

For the Mac version, please see: How to use Endnote 20 in seven minutes: MacOS