Library Guides: Animal and Veterinary Sciences: Recommended resources

Dictionaries and encyclopaedias

The Dictionary of Virology by Mahy, B
Publication Date: 2009

Quick links

Ebook collections

CSIRO eBooks This link opens in a new window
CSIRO Publishing is a leading Australian science publisher. This collection consists of eBooks covering agriculture, aquatic science, plant and animal sciences, forestry, environmental science, and natural history.

With CSIRO eBooks you can:
* read online
* search within the book
* download the entire book as a PDF
* navigate to and download individual chapters as PDFs.

If you search using the search box at the top right of screen, you will get results for both books and book-chapters, and your results will include items that are not necessarily available in full-text. Books and book-chapters that are available in full-text are marked with a tick; items that are not available in full-text are marked with a locked padlock.
CABI Digital This link opens in a new window
CABI Digital is an ever-expanding collection of hundreds of eBooks published by CAB International (CABI) covering agriculture, animal & veterinary sciences, environmental science, human health & nutrition, leisure & tourism, and plant sciences.
You can browse the collection under the subject-headings listed above, which are listed as tabs across each page. Or search using a search box which is also on each page. You can select which subject area(s) you search in.

Books are indexed and retrievable as chapters, displayed as PDF files. You can download or print or email material for the purposes of private study, research, or teaching (see Terms and Conditions).

There is no limit on the number of concurrent users.
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.

Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).

For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.

See more tips on finding and using eBooks.

Library databases

CAB Abstracts (1910 to present) This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database produced by CAB International (CABI), available on the Ovid platform in various date packages. This one is the full package, with coverage back to 1910. Covers agriculture; animal & vet sciences; environmental sciences; health, food, and nutrition; leisure & tourism; microbiology & parasitology; and plant sciences. Includes some material in full-text.
Originally a citation-only database, the database now includes full-text content which was previously only available through a separate subscription. There are tens of thousands of full-text documents available including journal articles, reports, and conference papers. To display results that are directly available in full-text in this database, you need to use the limiter for Ovid Full Text Available, which you can get by clicking on the button for Additional Limits.

The Ovid search interface for CAB Abstracts includes a "Map term to subject heading" tick-box, which you can use to check for and search by authorised subject headings.

Updating is weekly.

You can access the other CAB Abstracts packages from the Ovid databases menu.
BSAVA Library This link opens in a new window
The BSAVA (British Small Animal Veterinary Association) Library is a new resource containing BSAVA’s publications across the spectrum of small animal veterinary practice. Content includes manual chapters, books, journal articles, formulary items, videos, and other materials.
You can search across all BSAVA’s content, and then filter by various criteria including content type, animal, topic, and date. Search results also include a tab for article results from BSAVA’s Journal of Small Animal Practice (JSAP). You can't browse this journal in BSAVA Library, but the search results will link you to the full article in Wiley Online Library.

Using the tabs at the top of the main screen, you can browse by:
• Books
• Journals – JSAP, and Companion
• Formulary
• CPD – including lecture library (BSAVA Congress podcasts), video library, and webinar library
• More – a range of other resources including themed collections, client leaflets, and scientific information.

All content should be available in full.

You can establish a personal profile to save favourites and set up alerts.
MEDLINE ALL (includes MeSH headings) [1946 to Present] This link opens in a new window
This major international health, medicine, and veterinary medicine database is available from Ovid in various packages. The version here includes material from 1946 to current.
MEDLINE is recognised as the premier index of biomedical literature. It includes health and medicine, allied health fields, and veterinary science, plus the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to health care. It is produced by the United States National Library of Medicine and covers thousands of international journals from 1946 - .

It is primarily a database of citations, but the Ovid version includes links to some full text journal titles from the database CSU Full Text Journals@Ovid, listed in the Charles Sturt databases lists as Journals@Ovid CSU Full Text Subscribed.

For the full-text of other items, use the >strong>Find it button to search for the full article via Primo Search.

MEDLINE is provided by Ovid in various date packages. These can be accessed from the Library's list of M-databases or from the Ovid menu of databases.

MEDLINE is very similar to the free and publicly available PubMed.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multi-subject abstract and citation database of research literature. Known for its citation-tracking and bibliometric features.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature which offers coverage of more than 22,000 journals, and more than 150,000 books, from more than 5,000 publishers. There are nearly 70 million records and 1.4 billion cited references. Most records date since 1996 but Scopus has recently added records dated from 1970 - 1995.

Scopus does not in itself include the full-text of articles, but many records in a results list will have a View at publisher link. If that link doesn't work, use the Find it link to search for the full article via Primo Search.

Subject coverage includes:
* Life Sciences
* Health Sciences
* Physical Sciences
* Social Sciences & Humanities.

Scopus has a number of specialised features relating to bibliometrics which are mainly used by higher degree researchers. But one feature that might have wider application is the ability to use the View Cited By function to find articles that cite your selected articles(s). You can also sort your results list by citation count.

A note on access for academic/research staff: If you are academic/research staff and require access to your Charles Sturt researcher profile, please use this link - https://www.scopus.com - and sign in using the "Access through your Institution" option. Type Charles Sturt University into the search box and follow the prompts.
Vetstream This link opens in a new window
An online resource of point-of-care clinical information, including both textual and multimedia material, for the veterinary treatment of the dog, cat, rabbit, and horse.
The Canis, Felis, Lapis, and Equis services each include peer-reviewed point-of-care content which in turn includes both text and multimedia items. The multimedia material includes images, sound, and videos.

As an indication of the extent of this resource, at January 2013 the Canis module on its own comprised nearly 7000 items: 2639 text items; 4103 images, videos, and sounds; and 142 owner factsheets.

One feature of this resource is the owner factsheets, which are designed to support communication with animal owners. These factsheets can be found within each module under the heading of "Owner information".

The resource is updated weekly.

See all Animal and Veterinary Sciences databases.

Need some help with understanding how to use Library databases? See our Database Help Guide.

Websites

American Veterinary Medical Association
The AVA represents veterinarians from various sectors.
Animal Health Australia
AHA works towards improving animal health and keeping Australia free of new diseases.
Ausvet Epidemiological Resources
Surveillance manuals, software and online calculators for epidemiologists.
Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority
The national independent regulator of pesticides and veterinary medicines.
Veterinary Information Network (VIN)
A website/meeting place 'for veterinarians, by veterinarians'.
World Organisation for Animal Health
The WOAH collects and analyses the latest scientific information on animal disease control. This information is then made available to the Member Countries to help them to improve the methods used to control and eradicate these diseases.

Professional organisations

Animal Health Australia
An innovative partnership with governments and industries working to protect and improve animal health within Australia.
Australasian Veterinary Boards Council Inc.
Assuring the quality of veterinary professional standards.
Australian Veterinary Association
The professional organisation that represents veterinarians across Australia.
World Veterinary Association
The WVA is the internationally recognized representative of global veterinary medicine.