It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A bibliographic database produced by CAB International (CABI), available on the Ovid platform in various date packages. This one is the full package, with coverage back to 1910. Covers agriculture; animal & vet sciences; environmental sciences; health, food, and nutrition; leisure & tourism; microbiology & parasitology; and plant sciences. Includes some material in full-text.
Originally a citation-only database, the database now includes full-text content which was previously only available through a separate subscription. There are tens of thousands of full-text documents available including journal articles, reports, and conference papers. To display results that are directly available in full-text in this database, you need to use the limiter for Ovid Full Text Available, which you can get by clicking on the button for Additional Limits.
The Ovid search interface for CAB Abstracts includes a "Map term to subject heading" tick-box, which you can use to check for and search by authorised subject headings.
Multi-subject Australian full-text journal collection published by CSIRO Publishing.
This resource is a collection of about 30 entirely full-text Australian journals published by CSIRO Publishing. The website has a tab for, and lists of, books and CDs, but it is the journals to which Charles Sturt Library subscribes, and which are available in full-text. These cover a broad range of scientific disciplines including mainly agriculture, the plant and animal sciences, and environmental management.
The collection can be searched or browsed. Searching can be limited to a journal or a number of journals. The searching functionality is not very sophisticated, and users are advised to check the Search hints link which is available on the Advanced Search screen. Some users prefer to use another index, such as Web of Science Core Collection or Scopus as a searching tool, and then use the Find it links to link to the full-text within CSIRO Electronic Journals.
Coverage varies with title, but in some cases extends back to the early 1900s. All articles are available in PDF format.
An EBSCOhost database which includes a range of source material covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
The collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles includes content on conservation, global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Key journals that are available in full-text include Conservation Biology; International Journal of Green Energy; Journal of Ecology; Journal of Environmental Planning & Management, and Journal of Wildlife Management. Other key journals that are indexed only include Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment; Bioscience; and Forest Ecology & Management.
GreenFILE is provided free by EBSCOhost and so contains relatively less full-text material than other EBSCOhost databases. However, for articles where the full-text is not provided, you can use the Find it - CSU links to search for the full article if available in another database.
Greenfile is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
Once you are in the ProQuest interface, you can change to any other ProQuest database, by clicking on the Change Databases, or Databases, tab at the top left of any ProQuest screen. The databases are listed in a hierarchy. There is another broad collection of databases in the science area: ProQuest's subject package of Science & Technology Databases.
ScienceDirect is an Elsevier database of scientific content from journals and books, which gives comprehensive coverage of the sciences and social sciences.
Material is organised in the major subject areas of:
- physical sciences and engineering;
- life sciences;
- health sciences;
- social sciences and humanities.
Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all of the content in ScienceDirect, but the subscription does include the full-text of approximately 2,100 of the 2,500 journals. There is some full-text eBook content available as well. Search results are available in the form of journal articles and book chapters.
If you wish to limit your search to full-text content, go to Advanced Search, and tick the box(es) for Subscribed publications and/or Open Access articles. At the same screen, you can also specify Journal or Book (or both) content.
For journal article results where the full-text is NOT available, click on the article title to go to the full record, then click on the Find It button to search for the full item via Primo Search.
Most full-text content is available from 1995 onward and, for some journals, the content is available from Volume 1. New titles are added regularly.
Elsevier also produces the Scopus database, a huge abstract and citation database.
A multi-subject abstract and citation database of research literature. Known for its citation-tracking and bibliometric features.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature which offers coverage of more than 22,000 journals, and more than 150,000 books, from more than 5,000 publishers. There are nearly 70 million records and 1.4 billion cited references. Most records date since 1996 but Scopus has recently added records dated from 1970 - 1995.
Scopus does not in itself include the full-text of articles, but many records in a results list will have a View at publisher link. If that link doesn't work, use the Find it link to search for the full article via Primo Search.
Subject coverage includes:
* Life Sciences (agricultural and biological sciences; biochemistry, genetics, and molecular biology; immunology and microbiology; neuroscience; pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics; multidisciplinary).
* Health Sciences (medicine; dentistry; nursing; veterinary; health professions).
* Physical Sciences (chemical engineering; chemistry; computer science; earth and planetary science; energy; engineering; environmental science; materials science; mathematics; physics and astronomy).
* Social Sciences & Humanities (arts and humanities; business, management and accounting; decision sciences; economics, econometrics, and finance; psychology; social sciences).
Scopus has a number of specialised features relating to bibliometrics which are mainly used by higher degree researchers. But one feature that might have wider application is the ability to use the View Cited By function to find articles that cite your selected articles(s). You can also sort your results list by citation count.
Latest articles from: Agroecology and Sustainable Food Systems
Do you need to find peer reviewed or refereed journals for your assessment? The video below can show you how.