Skip to main content

Charles Sturt University Study Centre Libraries: Databases

Databases: what are they?

Library databases are an electronic collection of published resources, mainly articles from academic journals, newspapers and magazines.

Databases can cover a single subject or discipline such as ABI/INFORM, a business database. Databases can also be multidisciplinary, covering a range of topics such as the database, EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete which has articles and other materials in areas including astronomy, engineering, ethnics, geography, law, mathematics, music, science, technology, women's studies, zoology, and many more.  

Databases are indexes, meaning that they provide a citation or reference to the article. However, it is becoming more common for databases to also provide said article as full text. If you are looking for the article, select the “fulltext” option.

 

Check the help menu of the database you are using to find out its operators or symbols. Proquest help icon EBSCO help icon 

 

There are a number of ways to access the peer-reviewed articles found in databases at Charles Sturt University.

Charles Sturt University website highlighting A-Z resources

- A search in Primo will search across all the databases subscribed by Charles Sturt University. Just filter the search to Articles (under resource type) and Peer-reviewed journals (under show only), to get the articles.
- Go to A-Z databases, from the Charles Sturt University Library website. Select the database you want to use. They are arranged alphabetically and can be filtered by letter, subject and provider. ProQuest and EBSCOhost are the biggest and high-respected databases and providers.
- Bookmark the link: A-Z databases
- Click on the database in your Subject Libguide or Library Resource Guide

 

Charles Sturt University Library also has databases that provide statistically information, images and videos.

EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost is one of the many database providers that Charles Sturt University Library gives access to you.

 

EBSCOhost is a popular, highly-respected, diversified research platform which includes scholarly journals, trade publications, books and reports for a variety of topics.

 

This video highlights how to search this database.

Charles Sturt University Library Training

Charles Sturt University Library has created some videos on how to use the most commonly used databases including EBSCOhost, ProQuest, Informit and OVID. Visit the Charles Sturt University Library YouTube Channel.

 

Charles Sturt University Library also runs online workshops. Join Charles Sturt University Library workshops.