Skip to main content

Charles Sturt University Study Centre Libraries: Borrowing

Study Centre Library Account


Your Study Centre Library Account gives you access to the Study Centre Library Collections.

Your account is created as part of the enrollment process and your Student ID card acts as your Library card. Make sure to bring it with you when you want to borrow!

You can access your account online to:

- View the Library Catalogue
- Check your account status and fine balance
- View a summary of your loans and the due dates
- Renew and request items from the Library Collections

Borrowing


You can borrow items from the Library provided your account is in good standing:

- No overdue items
- Fine balance is less than $10

Borrowing limits

You can borrow up to 10 items at a time.

Loan periods

Collection Loan Period Renewals allowed
Main Collection 2 weeks Yes, maximum loan period is 6 weeks
3 Hour Reserve 3 hours No
Overnight Reserve (Melbourne Campus only) 1 day No

Renewing


Items borrowed from the Main Collection can be renewed provided they are not in high demand and your account is in good standing:

- No overdue items
- Fine balance is less than $10

You can renew your items online via your Library Account or on Campus via the self-checkout terminal.

Contact your Study Centre Library if you need help with renewing your loans.

Requests


Items from the Main Collection can be requested if they are not available on the shelf. We will notify you via email when your requested item is available and hold it for you to collect for up to 3 days from when it arrives.

You can request items online via your Library Account.

Contact your Study Centre Library if you need help with requesting an item.

Fines


Library fines can be issued for:

- Not returning your loaned items on time
- Damaging an item you have borrowed (this includes writing in Library books!)
- Losing your loaned items

You can check your fine balance online via your Library Account.

If your fine balance is $10 or more, you won't be able to borrow from the Library or renew any items you already have on loan.

Fine payments

Fine payments are processed by the Bursar/ Finance Department.

Contact your Study Centre Library if you have any questions about your fines.

Fine amounts

Overdue - Main Collection 50 cents per day
Overdue - Main Collection Recalled item $5 per day
Overdue - Overnight Reserve (Melbourne Campus only) $5 per day
Overdue - 3 Hour Reserve $1 per hour
Damaged item Up to $180 depending on the extent of the damage
Lost item $180 or the full replacement cost of the item

Borrowing from other Libraries


Mitchell library reading room, the State Library of NSW littleyiye. (2011). Mitchell library reading room, the State Library of NSW [Photograph]. Flickr. https://www.flickr.com/photos/little_yiye/5567972164

University Libraries

The Study Centre Libraries and Charles Sturt University are members of the University Libraries Australia and New Zealand (ULANZ). The ULANZ borrowing scheme allows staff and students for member universities to borrow in person from other member universities in Australia and New Zealand. There is a yearly membership fee of approximately $50 per university (this may differ between universities). You would need to show your Student ID card as proof.

If you become a member of another university, note the expiry date, as this can vary between universities.

Public Libraries

You can become a member of your local public library. The public libraries may not have your textbooks but you can borrow other items such as fiction, DVDs, and IELTS. Generally, membership are free but check as some public libraries can charge a membership fee if you can living outside the area.

State Library

The State Libraries offers free membership to residents within their state. You are not allowed to take anything out of the library. At this library, you can use the space, books and computers.

The State Library of NSW is in Macquarie Street, Sydney near Hyde Park.

The State Library of Queensland is in Stanley Place, South Brisbane.

The State Library of Victoria is at 328 Swanston Street, Melbourne.

 

Be aware of the fines you accrue from other libraries. We cannot negotiate these fines for you.

 

Contact your Study Centre Library for more information