Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Screen reading resources for study: 2. Journal databases

A guide for users who require assistance for screen reading.

EBSCOhost databases

EBSCOhost Databases

These databases cover a range of subject areas including, business, management, computing, health, education, sociology and psychology, religion and philosophy and economics.

Tips for using EBSCOhost journal databases

  1. When you select a database you will land in the Advanced Search option. Add your keywords or a phrase to start your search. For a more efficient option, check the boxes to limit your search to full text and scholarly or peer reviewed journals.
  2. Once on the results page, the easiest way to navigate your search results is to press CTRL or ALT + SHIFT + 1.
  3. Results will list the records of each article. To read the abstract, select the title of the article. Articles may be available in HTML or PDF or in some cases both formats. Choose the HTML version to activate a read aloud feature by clicking on the Listen icon which appears under the title of the article. You may choose from three different accents, American, Australian or British and reading speeds slow, medium or fast.
  4. You can refine your results list by choosing a publication date range and/or subject.
  5. Proquest includes a built in Text-to-speech option. Alternatively use an assistive technology tool such as TextAloud or Adobe Reader to read aloud your PDF files. TextAloud can also be used to read webpages, install the TextAloud toolbar to Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer web browsers.
  6. Create your EBSCOhost personal folder to collect and save PDF files of articles or save PDF files to your Adobe Digital Editions Library.
  7. Click on the link: PDF full text to download the article or select the title of the article to export the citation to your Endnote library, view the citation, save to a folder and download the PDF.
  8. Some of the major EBSCOhost databases that support screen readers are Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete and GreenFILE.

To start your search, select a database from the list below:

Business Source Complete

Education Research Complete

CINAHL Plus with Full Text - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Religion and Philosophy Collection

SocINDEX with full text - sociology

MasterFILE Premier - includes general science, business, education, health and multi-cultural issues

EconLit - economics

Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts with Full Text

GreenFILE - human impact on the environment (best accessed using the Mozilla Firefox browser)

Computers and Applied Sciences Complete

Communication and Mass Media Complete

International Security and Counter-Terrorism Reference Centre

Humanities International Complete

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

Newspaper Source Plus - international

ProQuest databases

ProQuest Databases

These databases cover a range of subject areas including, biological science, earth and environmental sciences, general science, business and management, education, health and medicine and the social sciences.

Tips for using ProQuest journal databases

  1. When you select a database you will usually land in the advanced search option. Add your keywords or a phrase to start your search. For a more efficient option, check the boxes to limit your search to full text and peer reviewed journals.
  2. Results will list the details of each article with options to read the abstract or download the PDF and open the file in a PDF reader.
  3. To further refine you results, you can also select a publication date or a date range.
  4. Use an assistive technology tool such as TextAloud or Adobe Reader to read aloud PDF files. TextAloud can also be used to read webpages, install the TextAloud toolbar to Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer web browsers.
  5. Create your ProQuest personal folder in the My Research tab to collect and save PDF files of articles or save PDF files to your Adobe Digital Editions Library.
  6. Select an article to export the citation to your Endnote library using ProQuest's Cite option.
  7. Some of the major ProQuest Databases that support screen readers are Asian Business, Computing, Health & Medical, Military and SciTech collection. These databases can be found in ProQuest Central.

To start your search, select a database form the list below:

ProQuest Central - a comprehensive collection.

SciTech Collection - focuses on science and technology.

Education Database - includes primary, secondary and higher education also special needs, home schooling, adult and teacher education.

Educational Resources Information Centre - ERIC an online digital library of education research and information.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global - international.

Australia & New Zealand Newsstream - leading Australian and New Zealand newspapers.

JSTOR databases

JSTOR

JSTOR is a searchable archive of full-text journals, but it is an archive of backfiles only, therefore it does not hold the most current publications.

Charles Sturt University has access to all of the Arts and Sciences plus the Life Sciences collections which includes over 1500 journal titles. Coverage includes academic areas such as political science, art, history, education, language, literature, music and philosophy.

Tips for using JSTOR

  1. When you select JSTOR you will land in the standard search option.
  2. Enter your search terms, from the results select an item by it's title. From this screen you can read the item online or download the PDF, and access the citation for the item from the Cite this item tab.
  3. To access the full text of the article, choose the Download PDF option. You will need to accept JSTOR Terms and Conditions at this point to proceed to the PDF.
  4. Most articles are tagged at a high level using an automated process making them accessible and readable by screen readers such as JAWS. If PDF tagging is not sufficient please contact JSTOR Support.

Start your search at JSTOR.

ScienceDirect databases

ScienceDirect

This database covers a range of subject areas including, engineering, mathematics, computer science, health and the social sciences, psychology, agricultural and biological sciences.

Tips for accessing ScienceDirect journal databases

  1. Please note: ScienceDirect supports the browsers, Chrome, Firefox and Internet Explorer version 9 or higher.
  2. To limit your search to only the content held by ScienceDirect, select the advanced search option and check the boxes for subscribed publications and open access articles. Results will include journal articles and eBook chapters. Add your keywords to the search fields.
  3. On the results page, records are listed of each article. Select the title of the article to go to the HTML version which is keyboard and screen reader friendly.
  4. To refine your results list, choose from the refine filters options e.g. year, topic etc and apply filters.
  5. Articles are also available to download in PDF format, however PDF files are untagged. Use an assistive technology tool such as TextAloud or Adobe Reader to read aloud your PDF files. TextAloud can also be used to read webpages, so install the TextAloud toolbar to Mozilla Firefox or Internet Explorer web browsers.
  6. Choose the export option to add the citation to your EndNote library.

To start your search, select ScienceDirect.

Help guides for journal databases

The following videos and websites have help resources and tools. You can also contact a Charles Sturt University Librarian for help.

Help from a Librarian

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.