It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AccessMedicine, from McGraw-Hill Medicine, is a collection of interactive resources related to study and clinical practice in science and medicine.
• More than 100 medical reference eBooks
• A multimedia library that includes videos, audio files, and animations
• A differential diagnosis tool
• Quick reference tools
• Self-assessment Q&A
• 2-Minute Medicine
• Patient education resources
• Drug Database
• Downloadable images.
You can search across the whole site, or browse by resource/content type.
More than 300 titles in nursing, dentistry, pharmacy and other health subjects. These books are from leading medical publishers including Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins (LWW), McGraw-Hill, and Lexicomp.
The link here is to an alphabetical title list but you can also browse by subject. In the same panel, you can "search all books" or you can go to the familiar Ovid search interface, with options for Keyword, Author, Title, Book Name, and "Natural Language" searching.
You may download and/or print sections of books.
There is unlimited access to most titles, with some restricted to one user only.
CAB eBooks is an ever-expanding collection of hundreds of eBooks published by CAB International (CABI) covering agriculture, animal & veterinary sciences, environmental science, human health & nutrition, leisure & tourism, and plant sciences.
You can browse the collection under the subject-headings listed above, or search using a search box which is available on every page. You can choose to search within the 6 main subject areas.
Books are indexed and retrievable as chapters, displayed as PDF files. You can download or print or email material for the purposes of private study, research, or teaching (see Terms and Conditions).
There is no limit on the number of concurrent users.
An interactive platform with a range of resources for learning and teaching in Medicine. Note: To access content on this site you need to log in via “my institution”. We also recommend that you register. If you already have a ScienceDirect, Scopus, or Mendeley registration you can use that.
ClinicalKey Student:Medicine is a collection of medicine and medical science resources comprising:
• more than 200 textbooks covering 40 medical specialties, including Gray's Anatomy for Students and Medical Physiology
• more than 850 associated videos, ranging from practical demonstrations of anatomical dissections to instructional clinical examination examples
• more than 85,000 images
• more than 1,500 quick-access summaries of medical conditions.
To access the content you will need to follow a login process: log in from “my institution”; type in Charles Sturt; select the first option; and click on Continue.
Once you are signed in you can continue without registering, or you can choose to register to save time in the future. Registration is also required for access to Bookshelf, for enhanced navigation and personalised features. (Note: First-time use of Bookshelf requires you to be in a book chapter before you click the ‘Launch Bookshelf’ link. After the first time, you can access Bookshelf from the 'Bookshelf' link at the top of the screen or from within a book chapter.)
You can also use the Bookshelf mobile app or desktop app to read content offline and use the personalization features of Bookshelf.
This resource does not allow for printing sections of text.
This site is more than just a collection of resources. It also offers interactive teaching and learning tools. Teaching staff can create and assign assessments, and track students’ performance, while students can enhance their learning by creating quizzes.
OSO eBooks has a selection of scholarly eBooks covering mainly subjects in the humanities and social sciences, including law, religion, and philosophy & ethics.
Other subjects covered include political science, psychology, social work, business & management, biology, history, economics & finance, public health & epidemiology, linguistics, and literature.
CSU has full-text access to most of the items in this collection. Full-text availability is indicated by a green unlocked-padlock icon.
You can search using a simple search or Advanced Search, or you can browse by subject. When you have done a search or a browse, you can refine results using the Narrow Your Choices panel on the left of screen. Refining options include Availability, Recently Published, and Subject.
Your results will be in the form of book titles, with a contents list of chapters/sections. Each chapter/section is available in HTML, with a small link to View PDF at the right of screen.
ProQuest Ebook Central, previously known as EBL, is a huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. Thousands of EBL titles have been purchased for permanent use. You can also access a number of titles not yet purchased by CSU Library.
You can access eBooks in ProQuest Ebook Central under one of 3 lending "models":
* Unlimited concurrent users (multi-user);
* Non-linear lending: unlimited concurrent users, but limited to 325 "loans" in a year;
* Textbook: limited to a maximum of 3 concurrent users.
You can read books online, or download for periods varying from 1 to 7 days. If you wish to download an EBL eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).
A collection of thousands of eBooks published by Springer, covering biomedical & life sciences, computer science, earth & environmental science, humanities, social sciences & law, and medicine.
These eBooks are available in the SpringerLink database, which contains journals and reference works as well as books. It also contains some content that CSU Library does not subscribe to.
The link here takes you to a browse list of available eBooks, and if you search using the search box at the top of screen, your searching should be across available eBook titles.
However, if you use the Search Options > Advanced Search at the right of the search box, your search will be across all content in SpringerLink, including journals and articles and unsubscribed ("preview-only") content.
You can limit your search to subscribed material by unticking the "Include preview-only content" box at the bottom of the search screen, and you can refine your results to show only book, or book chapter, material, by using the refiners in the panel at the left of a results list.
Reading and downloading eBooks
Arrangements for viewing and downloading eBooks vary according to the collection they are in.
Generally, you can read an eBook online using the "read online" interface in the collection, or download the eBook to your computer or mobile device. Downloading to your computer requires the free software Adobe Digital Editions, while downloading to a device requires a free app - Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).
There are sometimes limits on the number of concurrent users for an eBook, and often limits on how much you can print and copy.
For more assistance with finding and using eBooks, see the Library Resource Guide on eBooks.