It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a subset of Taylor & Francis eBooks, and is a collection of more than 1800 eBooks on Civil Engineering.
It covers civil, coastal/waterway/ocean, construction, dams & hydraulic, earthquake, estimating & cost, general, geotechnical, structural, and transportation engineering. It includes around 1850 books.
The link here takes you to a results list of books/book chapters with the filter of CivilEngineeringnetBASE applied. If you carry out a new search that filter will be removed and you will be searching across the whole of Taylor & Francis eBooks. You should apply the filter for Collection > CivilEngineeringnetBASE, or the filter for Content I have access to.
To browse the collection click on the Browse tab, then select eBook Collections and search for CivilEngineeringnetBASE. You should get one result. An alternative way to browse this collection is to go to Taylor & Francis eBooks, click on Explore our eBook Collections > Engineering & Technology, and then click on CivilEngineeringnetBASE.
Search results are available as book titles or chapter titles. Browse results are available initially as books, and then as chapters. Full-text availability is indicated by a green tick icon, or a brown open access icon to the right of the record. Items not available in full-text have no icon.
IGI Global / Info Sci-Books is a research collection of thousands of scholarly works on information technology and computer science. The collection is mainly eBooks but also includes more than 150 eJournals. Results are available at chapter/article level.
IGI Global is a publisher of books, journals, and other materials in the areas of education, social science, library science, healthcare, business, environmental science, public administration, computer science, and engineering.
The collection here includes both eBooks (InfoSci-Books), and eJournals (InfoSci-Journals), and also a small collection of eBooks on library science (Library Information Science). These are all options in the Research Collections panel.
The default screen is the list of eBooks but you can change to the list of eJournals, or you can choose to search or browse across the whole database. To do this, click on Database Search in the E-Database Tools panel.
Also known as ICE Virtual Library, this is a small collection of eBooks in subject areas relevant to practising civil engineers and construction professionals.
This small collection includes works on hydrology, geotechnical & rock engineering, geology & earthworks, bridge engineering, structural mechanics, building structures, and communication for professional engineers.
Unfortunately you can't limit a search to subscribed content, so you might get many results that are not available in full-text.
Similarly, you can't restrict your search to eBook content (the collection includes eJournals as well, but Charles Sturt Library does not have a subscription to these).
You can access an Advanced Search screen by clicking on the Search button when there are no search terms entered in the search box (or use this Advanced Search link). The Advanced Search screen seems to display better in Firefox than in IE.
Subscribed content is designated by an orange S icon; free content is designated by a green F icon.
An Elsevier database of scientific content from journals and books, which gives comprehensive coverage of the sciences and social sciences.
Material is organised in the major subject areas ("domains") of:
• physical sciences and engineering
• life sciences
• health sciences
• social sciences and humanities.
Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all of the content in ScienceDirect, but the subscription does include the full-text of thousands of journals and hundreds of eBooks. Both the journal and eBook content cover a range of subjects.
To browse the collection, go to Journals & Books at the top of the main page. You can filter your browsing by journal or book title, domain and subdomain (subject areas), resource type (articles and book chapters), and access type.
You can search using basic or advanced search. Search results are available as journal articles and book chapters.
You can filter results to full-text content by ticking the box(es) for Subscribed publications and/or Open Access articles. You can also filter by article type or to book chapters.
For journal article results where the full-text is NOT available, click on the article title to go to the full record, then click on the Find It button to search for the full item via Primo Search.
Most full-text journal content is available from 1995 onward and, for some journals, the content is available from Volume 1. New titles are added regularly.
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. It is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
Reading and downloading eBooks
Arrangements for viewing and downloading eBooks vary according to the collection they are in.
Generally, you can read an eBook online using the "read online" interface in the collection, or download the eBook to your computer or mobile device. Downloading to your computer requires the free software Adobe Digital Editions, while downloading to a device requires a free app - Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).
There are sometimes limits on the number of concurrent users for an eBook, and often limits on how much you can print and copy.
For more assistance with finding and using eBooks, see the Library Resource Guide on eBooks.