It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OSO eBooks has a selection of scholarly eBooks covering mainly subjects in the humanities and social sciences, including law, religion, and philosophy & ethics.
Other subjects covered include political science, psychology, social work, business & management, biology, history, economics & finance, public health & epidemiology, linguistics, and literature.
Charles Sturt has full-text access to most of the items in this collection. You can filter your search so that it returns only items available in full-text. Full-text availability is indicated by a green Unlocked icon, a green Free icon, or an orange Open Access icon
You can search using a simple search or Advanced Search, or you can browse by subject. When you have done a search or a browse, you can refine results using the Narrow Your Choices panel on the left of screen. Refining options include Availability, Recently Published, and Subject.
Your results will be in the form of book titles, with a contents list of chapters/sections. Each chapter/section is available in HTML, with a small link to View PDF at the right of screen.
Offers access to eBooks in two main subject areas: business, management, and economics; and social sciences.
Charles Sturt Library subscribes to both journals and eBooks in Emerald Insight. The link here takes you to our subscribed eBooks (the green-square icon indicated access). These are presented in the form of 143 book series, each series then consisting of a number of volumes.
If you search, you have the option to search just journals, or just book series, or both, and you have the option to search all content or only content you have access to.
Specific topics covered by the eBooks series include accounting & finance, education, health & social care, library & information science, marketing, sociology, transport, and tourism & hospitality.
You can also try the Library's main, multi-subject collection of eBooks...
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. It is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
Reading and downloading eBooks
Arrangements for viewing and downloading eBooks vary according to the collection they are in.
Generally, you can read an eBook online using the "read online" interface in the collection, or download the eBook to your computer or mobile device. Downloading to your computer requires the free software Adobe Digital Editions, while downloading to a device requires a free app - Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).
There are sometimes limits on the number of concurrent users for an eBook, and often limits on how much you can print and copy.
For more assistance with finding and using eBooks, see the Library Resource Guide on eBooks.