It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A significant international database covering nursing and allied health, available in the EBSCOhost platform with much available in full-text.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the well known index to literature in the fields of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is available as an EBSCOhost database and is actually a combination of 3 databases: CINAHL Plus with Full Text, CINAHL Select, and PreCINAHL. It provides the CINAHL index to journals in the areas of nursing and allied health, but also provides the full-text of more than 560 of these journals. Other resources that are indexed include: legal cases, drug records, clinical trials, professional publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
While the traditional CINAHL includes material dating from 1982, CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes material going back to 1937.
The database is updated weekly.
This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. It is also available to CSU users as part of the EBSCOhost (Health) package. Once you are on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
A ProQuest database of journals and articles (including more than 1,050 full-text journals), and other content, covering all aspects of nursing and allied health.
In addition to the journal content, this database includes:
* more than 12,300 full text dissertations covering nursing and related fields;
* chapters from online reference books in nursing;
* training videos from Medcom, Inc.;
* chapters from online reference books in nursing;
* multicultural reports from CultureVision;
* study paths as a method to find key topics and recommended reading.
Coverage is from 1986 present.
Nursing and Allied Health Source is one of many databases available in the ProQuest platform. Once in ProQuest, you can change to any other ProQuest database, by clicking on the "Searching: ... databases" link at the top left of the search screen. Other health-related databases in ProQuest include Health and Medical Collection, Consumer Health Database, and Public Health Database. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination. If you want to search more broadly in the ProQuest platform, ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases is a subject package of several health-related databases.
An Ovid database which covers nursing and allied health and includes primarily evidence-based clinical content.
Emcare indexes more than 3,700 international journals, including more than 1,800 journals not available on other databases. It includes nearly 5 million records dating back to 1995. 70% of records contain online abstracts.
Subjects covered include:
* Critical & Intensive Care
* Emergency Services
* Geriatrics & Palliative Care
* Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine
* Behavioral Science & Psychology
* Complementary Medicine
* Medical & Laboratory Technology
* Nutrition & Dietetics
* Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation
* Public & Occupational Health.
An Informit Australian database of entirely full-text content covering allied health, nursing, ageing and aged care, child health, indigenous health, mental health, and rehabilitation.
Specific subjects covered include: audiology; biotechnology; children's health; complementary medicine; continence/urology; counselling; diseases; epidemiology; geriatric health; health management; indigenous health; medicine; medical informatics; mental illness; neurology; nuclear medicine; nursing; occupational therapy; physiotherapy; psychoanalysis; rehabilitation; rural health; and substance abuse.
Content includes research articles, reports and case studies. Informit claims that many of the peer-reviewed journals included in Health Collection are uniquely available through Informit. The database also provides access to some full-text books and to grey literature such as conference proceedings and reports.
Coverage extends back to 1977.
Health Collection is one of many databases available in the Informit platform. Once in Informit, you can change to another database by clicking on CHANGE DATABASES on the main search screen. If you choose to select [databases] by Subject, there is a subject listing for Health. All Informit databases can be searched individually or in combination.
Free (in Australia) access to international evidence-based healthcare resources, with much in full-text. Produced by the Cochrane Collaboration.
The Cochrane Library is the main product of the Cochrane Collaboration, whose stated role is to make available systematic reviews of healthcare interventions, while promoting the search for evidence in the form of clinical trials and other studies of interventions.
There are two main databases in the Cochrane Library, as follows:
* Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (aka Cochrane Reviews, CDSR)
* Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (aka CENTRAL, Clinical Trials).
Cochrane Library also includes Cochrane Clinical Answers - short, clinically-focussed entry-points to research; Special Collections - curated collections on specific healthcare topics; and search access to the Epistemonikos health evidence database.
It is the Database of Systematic Reviews that is the main resource. This database includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols, which are reviews in preparation) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups. It also includes editorials and supplements. Material in this database is available in full-text.
When you search the Cochrane Library you will get results, in a tabbed format, from: Cochrane Reviews, Cochrane Protocols, Trials, Editorials, Special Collections, and Clinical Answers. A search performed in Basic Search will also return results from Epistemonikos (under the tab of "Other").
Cochrane Library is a subscription resource, but under an arrangement between the Australian Government and the Cochrane Collaboration, the resource is available free to internet users anywhere in Australia.
In addition to access via Cochrane, CSU users can access the Cochrane Library databases via Ovid platform, where they are listed under the titles of EBM Reviews.
ScienceDirect is an Elsevier database of scientific content from journals and books, which gives comprehensive coverage of the sciences and social sciences.
Material is organised in the major subject areas of:
- physical sciences and engineering;
- life sciences;
- health sciences;
- social sciences and humanities.
CSU Library does not subscribe to all of the content in ScienceDirect, but the subscription does include the full-text of approximately 2,100 of the 2,500 journals. There is some full-text eBook content available as well. Search results are available in the form of journal articles and book chapters.
If you wish to limit your search to full-text content, go to Advanced Search, and tick the box(es) for Subscribed publications and/or Open Access articles. At the same screen, you can also specify Journal or Book (or both) content.
For journal article results where the full-text is NOT available, click on the article title to go to the full record, then click on the SFX button to search for the full-text in other CSU Library subscription resources.
Most full-text content is available from 1995 onward and, for some journals, the content is available from Volume 1. New titles are added regularly.
Elsevier also produces the Scopus database, a huge abstract and citation database which has more than 53 million records from nearly 22,000 titles from 5,000 publishers.
A collection of 6 databases available in the Thomson Reuters interface, the most significant of which are: Web of Science Core Collection; Current Contents Connect; MEDLINE; and SciELO Citation Index. These databases can be searched together or individually.
Details of the 6 databases are: * Web of Science Core Collection - a collection of 5 citation indexes and 2 chemical indexes, where you can, amongst other things, find citing articles (ie articles that have cited a specific reference); * Current Contents Connect - a current awareness product which includes tables of contents and citations from journals from all disciplines; * KCI-Korean Journal Database - features research emanating from South Korea, and covers about 2,000 scholarly journals; * MEDLINE - the well-known international health and medicine database, produced by the (US) National Library of Medicine; * Russian Science Citation Index - covers Russian research in fields such as engineering, materials science, and ecology, with more than 600 journals indexed; * SciELO Citation Index (Scientific Electronic Library Online) - a program of the Sao Paulo Research Foundation for the cooperative publishing of open access journals, which includes regional journals from Latin America and the Caribbean as well as titles from Spain, Portugal and South Africa.
These databases can be searched together ("All Databases", which is the default) or individually. To change to a single database, click on the drop-down arrow beside All Databases in the main tab-bar of the Web of Science screen.
Most of the articles in this databases don't have the full-text attached, but you can use the Find it [at] CSU button, situated beneath each record, to locate the full-text in another online database or in a campus library print holding.
Please note: Web of Science does not work in Internet Explorer 6 or 7, or Internet Explorer 8 or 9 when running in Compatibility View. If you wish to use Web of Science with IE, you should update the version, and, in IE 8 or 9, hit F12 and check that your Browser Mode is not set to Compatibility View.
Latest articles from the journal Clinics of Podiatric Medicine & Surgery
Do you need to find peer reviewed or refereed journals for your assessment? The video below can show you how.