It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A digital image database of more than 300,000 images for use as an educational resource.
This database is a resource for educators and students who need to use images for teaching, presentations, special projects, or other education-related purposes. These images are sourced from major art collections, museums, and historical sites around the world.
Images include: photography; fine art; portraits; ceramics; engravings, lithographs, and prints; frescoes; sculpture; decorative arts; glassware; artefacts; and manuscripts. Subjects covered include architecture; archaeology and ethnography; arts; history; science; and medicine.
The database has various search options including Quicksearch, Advanced Search, and Search Indexes. The latter is a unique way of searching Bridgeman Education and involves searching via one of nine special search indexes.
The database is updated daily, and about 500 images are added each week.
NOTE: While the images in Bridgeman Education can be downloaded and used for educational purposes, there are restrictions on use, and CSU users accessing this resource will be taken via a webpage where they need to indicate that they agree to these conditions.
ALSO NOTE: Bridgeman Education is similar to, but not exactly the same as, the Bridgeman Art Library. There are differences in content and functionality. For example, Bridgeman Education includes the best image from the Bridgeman Art Library's large picture archive. Bridgeman Education is recommended as it is a subscription resource.
The Center for Creative Photography at the University of Arizona retains the archives of Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Garry Winogrand, Harry Callahan, and other great twentieth-century photographers. The searchable database contains many online images.
Search the National Library of Australia's online image collection, which contains almost 5 million photographs.
Referencing your images
Use the information at Referencing at University to appropriately attribute and reference your images. The Using Images at University Library Guide also has helpful information about attribution and copyright.
