It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A significant international database covering nursing and allied health, available in the EBSCOhost platform with much available in full-text.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the well known index to literature in the fields of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is available as an EBSCOhost database and is actually a combination of 3 databases: CINAHL Plus with Full Text, CINAHL Select, and PreCINAHL. It provides the CINAHL index to journals in the areas of nursing and allied health, but also provides the full-text of more than 560 of these journals. Other resources that are indexed include: legal cases, drug records, clinical trials, professional publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
While the traditional CINAHL includes material dating from 1982, CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes material going back to 1937.
The database is updated weekly.
This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. It is also available to CSU users as part of the EBSCOhost (Health) package. Once you are on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
An Ovid database which covers nursing and allied health and includes primarily evidence-based clinical content.
Emcare indexes more than 3,700 international journals, including more than 1,800 journals not available on other databases. It includes nearly 5 million records dating back to 1995. 70% of records contain online abstracts.
Subjects covered include:
* Critical & Intensive Care
* Emergency Services
* Geriatrics & Palliative Care
* Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine
* Behavioral Science & Psychology
* Complementary Medicine
* Medical & Laboratory Technology
* Nutrition & Dietetics
* Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation
* Public & Occupational Health.
This major international health, medicine, and veterinary medicine database is available from Ovid in various packages. The version here includes material from 1946 to current.
MEDLINE is recognised as the premier index of biomedical literature. It includes health and medicine, allied health fields, and veterinary science, plus the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to health care. It is produced by the United States National Library of Medicine and covers thousands of international journals from 1946 - .
It is primarily a database of citations, but the Ovid version includes links to some full text journal titles from the database CSU Full Text Journals@Ovid, listed in the CSU databases lists as Journals@Ovid CSU Full Text Subscribed.
An Informit Australian database of entirely full-text content covering allied health, nursing, ageing and aged care, child health, indigenous health, mental health, and rehabilitation. The link here will take you to a search of the Informit platform with a filter for Health Collection applied. See more ... below.
Specific subjects covered include: audiology; biotechnology; children's health; complementary medicine; continence/urology; counselling; diseases; epidemiology; geriatric health; health management; indigenous health; medicine; medical informatics; mental illness; neurology; nuclear medicine; nursing; occupational therapy; physiotherapy; psychoanalysis; rehabilitation; rural health; and substance abuse.
Content includes research articles, reports and case studies. Informit claims that many of the peer-reviewed journals included in Health Collection are uniquely available through Informit. The database also provides access to some full-text books and to grey literature such as conference proceedings and reports.
Coverage extends back to 1977.
NOTE ON SEARCHING: The search screen should have two search boxes, and should have a filter applied for this particular database
To search only in Health Collection:
• Ensure you search only using the box at the top of the screen
• Ensure you are searching “In this topic”
• Don’t click on Advanced Search or Citation Search.
If you are NOT searching in the top search box or you are NOT searching “In this topic” then you will be searching across the entire Informit platform. If that happens, you can still refine your search results to Health Collection results only, if you wish.
A package of eight EBSCOhost databases, all of which include Health-related material and a considerable amount of full-text content. Includes an important Dentistry database and an important Nursing and Allied Health database.
The databases are:
* Academic Search Complete;
* CINAHL Plus with Full Text;
* Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source;
* Health Business Fulltext Elite;
* Health Source: Consumer Edition;
* Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition;
* Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection;
* SocINDEX with Full Text.
All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
JBI COnNECT+ is the main product of the Joanna Briggs Institute, offering a range of resources in evidence-based healthcare.
It's an online gateway to evidence-based resources and tools for clinical decision-making process and best practice in nursing and allied health. These resources and tools allow users to engage in the six essential steps of evidence-based health care: to search, appraise, summarise, embed, utilise, and evaluate evidence-based information.
JBI COnNECT+ comprises a series of sites on selected areas of health, referred to as nodes:
* aged care
* burns care
* cancer care
* cardiovascular care
* chronic disease
* community health
* diagnostic imaging
* emergency and trauma
* general medicine
* health management and assessment
* infection control
* mental health
* midwifery care
* renal care
* surgical services
* tropical and infectious disease
* wound healing.
The types of publication in JBI COnNECT+ include:
* best practice information sheets
* consumer information sheets
* evidence summaries
* evidence based recommended practices
* systematic review protocols
* systematic reviews
* technical reports.
As well as the databases of Evidence-Based Practice material, this resource also gives access to a number of EBP tools.
If you want to access the EBP tools in JBI COnNECT+, it is suggested you go to JBI COnNECT+ on Ovid, which gives alternative access to JBI COnNECT+ via the Ovid platform. Once you have followed the instructions in the Ovid document Accessing JBI Tools for the first time, you should be able to access the EBP tools in both the Ovid and the JBI COnNECT+ platforms.
A ProQuest database of journals and articles (including more than 1,050 full-text journals), and other content, covering all aspects of nursing and allied health.
In addition to the journal content, this database includes:
* more than 12,300 full text dissertations covering nursing and related fields;
* chapters from online reference books in nursing;
* training videos from Medcom, Inc.;
* chapters from online reference books in nursing;
* multicultural reports from CultureVision;
* study paths as a method to find key topics and recommended reading.
Coverage is from 1986 present.
Nursing and Allied Health Source is one of many databases available in the ProQuest platform. Once in ProQuest, you can change to any other ProQuest database, by clicking on the "Searching: ... databases" link at the top left of the search screen. Other health-related databases in ProQuest include Health and Medical Collection, Consumer Health Database, and Public Health Database. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination. If you want to search more broadly in the ProQuest platform, ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases is a subject package of several health-related databases.
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical medical resource which includes medical and patient information, drug information, and a number of medical calculators. It is continuously updated and is designed as a point-of-care clinical resource.
The main content consists of 11,000 topics across 25 medical specialities, which are written, edited, and reviewed by authors, experts, and peer-reviewers from around the world. Each topic includes a prominent Summary section or Summary and Recommendations section.
Other features include:
• 1500 patient education topics
• 33,000 graphics
• access to Lexi-comp drug monographs
• more than 175 medical calculators
• What’s New and Practice-Changing Updates
• UptoDate Pathways.
UptoDate has an uncluttered user-friendly interface. You can search across the whole resource, or, from the top tab-bar, you can access the Contents, Calculators, Drug interactions, and UptoDate Pathways. You can navigate between topics using hyperlinks in the text.
For information about UpToDate's peer review process, see the page on Editorial Policy.
Do you need to find peer reviewed or refereed journals for your assessment? The video below can show you how.