It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A cadaver-based anatomy resource, developed in Australia, which features dissection on real bodies and covers the entire body in nine modules, including one on General Anatomy.
The other modules are: head; neck; upper limb; thorax; abdomen; back; pelvis; and lower limb.
Within each module there are four “perspectives”:
* Systems Perspective - includes conceptual and clinical anatomy
* Regions Perspective - includes surface and functional anatomy
* Dissection Perspective - includes practical procedures
* Imaging Perspective - includes sectional and endoscopic anatomy.
Each perspective is divided into chapters and topics; a breadcrumb trail at the top of every screen allows for easy navigation of the entire resource.
Photos and images are accompanied by interactive text, labels, and questions. Other features include clinical procedures, instructor resources, and an image bank with several thousand images.
For initial help with this resource you can go to the Introduction which has three introductory videos, while Anatomedia also provides a further set of Videos of Modules.
An interactive multimedia resource with 3D images and interactive models. The images illustrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. Includes the Clinical Specialty modules Dentistry, Real-Time Dentistry, and Dental Hygiene.
Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures) combines all the Primal Pictures material that Charles Sturt users previously accessed in different packages, including what was previously available as Primal Pictures Anatomy & Physiology Online, and including Primal Pictures Dentistry (see Clinical Specialties, below).
This is an interactive resource that provides a multimedia overview of human anatomy. It features three-dimensional animations that illustrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. These animations and models include coverage of more than 6500 structures. They show different layers of anatomical regions, rotate those regions 360 degrees, and provide textual information about each structure. The models are supplemented by clinical videos, pathology slides, and MRI scans. The resource includes quizzes and a study guide.
The content is presented in a series of modules and sub-modules:
* 3D Atlas: head and neck; spine; shoulder and arm; forearm and hand; thorax and abdomen; pelvis; hip; knee; leg, ankle and foot.
* 3D Real-Time: head and neck; spine; shoulder and arm; forearm, wrist and hand; thorax; abdomen; female pelvis; male pelvis; hip and thigh; knee; leg, ankle and foot; whole body.
* Functional anatomy: functional anatomy; sports injuries of the shoulder; sports injuries of the knee; sports injuries of the foot; exercise; Pilates; yoga; resistance training.
* Anatomy & Physiology: body plan and organisation; skeletal, muscular, cardiovascular, urinary, nervous, lymphatic, respiratory, reproductive, integumentary, endocrine, and digestive systems; blood; metabolism; chemistry; cell biology; fluid, electrolyte & acid-base balance; histology; special senses; development and inheritance.
* Imaging: ultrasound - lower limb; ultrasound - upper limb; CT and MRI - thorax, abdomen and pelvis.
* Clinical specialities: audiology; otolaryngology; dentistry; dental hygiene; real-time dentistry; speech-language pathology; head and neck - paediatric comparisons; head and neck - basic neuroanatomy; pelvic floor disorders; chiropractic; urology.
* Therapy: acupuncture; anatomy trains; hand therapy; massage and manual therapies.
* Quizzes and activities.
Depending on the specific module, you can:
- Demonstrate muscle function in 3D with interactive animations that show the interaction of muscles, ligaments, and bones;
- Peel away layers, rotate anatomical models 360 degrees, and reconstruct layers back to their original structure;
- Compare 3D images to MRI slices to aid in diagnosis and management of injuries with correlating scans;
- Review clinical videos to gain a better understanding of procedures and treatments;
- Export images, text, movies, and animations to use in presentations and handouts;
- Link between images, animations, movie clips, slides, and accompanying textual descriptions.
According to Anatomy.TV, "All our movies/animations can be played with either Windows Media player or Quicktime player" and "To view this site correctly the recommended screen settings are 1152 x 864 and minimum screen settings are 1024 x 768".
A collection on online videos on head-to-toe and body-system physical examinations. CSUs subscription includes only the Bates Physical Examination Videos.
The videos are presented in the form of 18 volumes: most are based on the body systems, but there are others on head-to-toe assessments and one on General Survey and Vital Signs. Each volume is divided into several short chapters, and you can view the chapters individually or all together ("Play all"). Each system-based volume includes one or more videos on Anatomy Review, and at the end of each volume there is a video on Recording Your Findings.
The videos include closed captions and See also links to related material.
You can browse the videos or search using a Search box that appears at the top of every screen.
Note that Flash Player is not required: the videos will be served to your computer, smartphone, or device in a non-Flash format.
(Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination includes a section on OSCE Clinical Skills Videos but this is not included in CSU's subscription.)
A group of 5 online programs covering anatomy and physiology through interactive 3D models, animations, images, and quizzes.
Visible Body is a group of programs that cover anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, images, and quizzes. These are also available as apps for mobile.
CSU subscribes to 5 of the 7 Visible Body modules:
Human Anatomy Atlas - a 3D visualisation-and-learning tool for exploring the systems of the human body. It includes more than 4,000 medically-accurate anatomical structures covering systemic and regional anatomy.
Physiology Animations - a comprehensive collection of nearly 70 videos that illustrate the core physiological processes of the human body.
Muscle Premium; Skeletal Premium; Heart & Circulatory Premium - these specialty modules use 3D models, interactive presentations, movies, and images to give users a more in-depth look at these systems.
CSU Library does not subscribe to the Anatomy & Physiology, or Anatomy & Function modules. These will be greyed out on the Visible Body landing page.
To get started, you need to click on one of the modules, then:
if you are using a computer, there will be a Launch button. Depending on which browser you are using, you might see two buttons: Launch Web Player; and Launch WebGL. The Web Player version requires the free software Unity Web Player (required for viewing 3D content), but note that this software is no longer supported; OR
The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) is a leader in online global nutrition information. Located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL) of the United States Department of Agriculture, the FNIC website contains over 2500 links to current and reliable nutrition information.
Australian database of streaming videos from free-to-air and pay-TV, selected for tertiary institutions.
Lecturers and students can find and instantly watch Australian television content.
Features of this database include:
* Instant streaming access to more than 10,000 programs via computer, tablet, or smartphone;
* Archive of programs from 2006, with up to 80 new programs added weekly;
* Content which includes documentaries, drama, series, and more from both free-to-air and pay-TV;
* Study guides and articles to complement the programs.
Please note that Informit EduTV uses a different interface from the Informit bibliographic databases and Informits media database, TVNews. You can browse EduTV by learning areas or you can use basic or advanced search. You can access study guides from the Resources tab.
In Informit EduTV, you can register in order to access personalised functions such as adding favourites, and creating clips and playlists. (Look for the Register link at the top right of the Informit EduTV screen.) You can register using any email address, as long as you do so having accessed (and logged in to) the database from a CSU Library webpage.
A searchable database of Australian free-to-air television news, current affairs, and (selected) documentary programs, available as digitised video.
TVNews is an Informit Media database, available via Informit Online. It can be searched in combination with other Informit databases.
It provides video from television news and current affairs programs, and selected documentaries, from the Australian free-to-air networks. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed and have detailed summaries. TVNews is updated daily, with stories from an evening news broadcast generally being available the next morning.
The video for each story or documentary is available in WMV format as a progressive download, allowing viewing to begin before the total video file is transferred. Items range in duration from less than 30 seconds for short news stories, to more than 60 minutes for selected documentaries. Transcripts are NOT included.
A ProQuest database featuring the full-text of Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Previously called ANZ Newsstand
This database includes titles from Fairfax (including The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald) and News Ltd (including The Australian, The Adelaide Advertiser, and The Herald Sun), plus leading regional and local newspaper titles from Australia and New Zealand, and transcripts and wire feeds from ABC programs.
Coverage varies, but most newspaper content is available from the mid- to late-nineties.
A global news and business information service, with most material available in full-text. It covers science, health, education, the humanities, and other subjects but has a focus on business, including business news, and company and industry research.
Factiva is produced by Dow Jones, a leading global provider of economic and financial information.
The database has full-text content from newspapers, newswires, business journals, market research reports, analyst reports, and websites.
It includes material from :
* Australian newspapers, including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald, and Business Review Weekly
* US newspapers, including The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal
* Magazines, journals and trade publications, including Forbes and Newsweek
* Newswires, including AFP, Reuters, and Dow Jones
* company reports
* other content including TV and radio podcasts; and major news and business information websites, blogs and message boards.
Coverage varies but goes back as far as 1980.
There is a useful online Help Guide available from ProQuest. It includes help pages on Simple Search, Search Builder (CSU's subscription defaults to Search Builder), Results pages, Companies/Markets, and Sample Searches.
NOTE: CSU Library has only 3 concurrent-user licences to Factiva. If you can't get access, try again later.
The NSA is a group of qualified, practising scientists and educators from a variety of specialist areas, brought together by a common interest in the research and application of nutrition. The society is comprised of numerous regional groups, managed by a National Council.
The World Obesity Federation (World Obesity), formerly the International Association for the Study of Obesity and the International Obesity Task Force, is the only global organisation focused exclusively on obesity.