It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A bibliographic database produced by CAB International (CABI), available on the Ovid platform in various date packages. This one is the full package, with coverage back to 1910. Covers agriculture; animal & vet sciences; environmental sciences; health, food, and nutrition; leisure & tourism; microbiology & parasitology; and plant sciences. Includes some material in full-text.
Originally a citation-only database, the database now includes full-text content which was previously only available through a separate subscription. There are tens of thousands of full-text documents available including journal articles, reports, and conference papers. To display results that are directly available in full-text in this database, you need to use the limiter for Ovid Full Text Available, which you can get by clicking on the button for Additional Limits.
The Ovid search interface for CAB Abstracts includes a "Map term to subject heading" tick-box, which you can use to check for and search by authorised subject headings.
A significant international database covering nursing and allied health, available in the EBSCOhost platform with much available in full-text.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the well known index to literature in the fields of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is available as an EBSCOhost database and is actually a combination of 3 databases: CINAHL Plus with Full Text, CINAHL Select, and PreCINAHL. It provides the CINAHL index to journals in the areas of nursing and allied health, but also provides the full-text of more than 560 of these journals. Other resources that are indexed include: legal cases, drug records, clinical trials, professional publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
While the traditional CINAHL includes material dating from 1982, CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes material going back to 1937.
The database is updated weekly.
This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. It is also available to CSU users as part of the EBSCOhost (Health) package. Once you are on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
An Ovid database which covers nursing and allied health and includes primarily evidence-based clinical content.
Emcare indexes more than 3,700 international journals, including more than 1,800 journals not available on other databases. It includes nearly 5 million records dating back to 1995. 70% of records contain online abstracts.
Subjects covered include:
* Critical & Intensive Care
* Emergency Services
* Geriatrics & Palliative Care
* Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine
* Behavioral Science & Psychology
* Complementary Medicine
* Medical & Laboratory Technology
* Nutrition & Dietetics
* Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation
* Public & Occupational Health.
An EBSCOhost database of journal and other citations with much in full-text. It covers food science; food service; industry reports; packaging & shipping; processing.
Food Science Source is a database containing full-text material which is designed to support the informational needs of the food industry at all levels.
There are more than 1,400 full-text titles, including journals, book, magazines, and trade publications. More than 1,000 food and industry reports are available. Other material includes benchmarks and best practices in the food industry. Searchable cited references are included.
The content covers such industry sectors as food science; food service; processing; and packaging & shipping.
Food Science Source is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. Academic Search Complete is a multi-subject database which should have food-science-related material. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
An Informit Australian database of entirely full-text content covering allied health, nursing, ageing and aged care, child health, indigenous health, mental health, and rehabilitation.
Specific subjects covered include: audiology; biotechnology; children's health; complementary medicine; continence/urology; counselling; diseases; epidemiology; geriatric health; health management; indigenous health; medicine; medical informatics; mental illness; neurology; nuclear medicine; nursing; occupational therapy; physiotherapy; psychoanalysis; rehabilitation; rural health; and substance abuse.
Content includes research articles, reports and case studies. Informit claims that many of the peer-reviewed journals included in Health Collection are uniquely available through Informit. The database also provides access to some full-text books and to grey literature such as conference proceedings and reports.
Coverage extends back to 1977.
Health Collection is one of many databases available in the Informit platform. Once in Informit, you can change to another database by clicking on CHANGE DATABASES on the main search screen. If you choose to select [databases] by Subject, there is a subject listing for Health. All Informit databases can be searched individually or in combination.
This major international health, medicine, and veterinary medicine database is available from Ovid in various packages. The version here includes material from 1946 to current.
MEDLINE is recognised as the premier index of biomedical literature. It includes health and medicine, allied health fields, and veterinary science, plus the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to health care. It is produced by the United States National Library of Medicine and covers thousands of international journals from 1946 - .
It is primarily a database of citations, but the Ovid version includes links to some full text journal titles from the database CSU Full Text Journals@Ovid, listed in the CSU databases lists as Journals@Ovid CSU Full Text Subscribed.
Free database from the (US) National Library of Medicine, which covers the biomedical literature and which is effectively the free public version of MEDLINE.
PubMed, developed by the National Centre for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the (US) National Library of Medicine (NLM), has more than 27 million records of articles in the biomedical literature, and a small selection of full-text items from the NCBI Books database. Subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and the life sciences.
PubMed is primarily an index, but many article records include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
One feature of PubMed is that a standard search will automatically map to relevant MeSH terms (Medical Subject Headings), and include them in the search. You can also choose to search PubMed via the NLM's MeSH database.
PubMed includes a journals database, which can be searched in various ways, and the My NCBI feature, which allows for saving results and searches and for setting up alerts.
PubMed is updated weekly.
NOTE: From mid-2020, PubMed has a new interface. The old interface will be available until at least 31 October 2020, at Legacy PubMed .
A multi-subject abstract and citation database of research literature. Known for its citation-tracking and bibliometric features.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature which offers coverage of more than 22,000 journals, and more than 150,000 books, from more than 5,000 publishers. There are nearly 70 million records and 1.4 billion cited references. Most records date since 1996 but Scopus has recently added records dated from 1970 - 1995.
Scopus does not include the full-text of articles, but, in a results list, you can click on the Find it [at] CSU link below each record to search for the full article in another database.
Subject coverage includes:
* Life Sciences (agricultural and biological sciences; biochemistry, genetics, and molecular biology; immunology and microbiology; neuroscience; pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics; multidisciplinary).
* Health Sciences (medicine; dentistry; nursing; veterinary; health professions).
* Physical Sciences (chemical engineering; chemistry; computer science; earth and planetary science; energy; engineering; environmental science; materials science; mathematics; physics and astronomy).
* Social Sciences & Humanities (arts and humanities; business, management and accounting; decision sciences; economics, econometrics, and finance; psychology; social sciences).
Scopus has a number of specialised features relating to bibliometrics which are mainly used by higher degree researchers. But one feature that might have wider application is the ability to use the View Cited By function to find articles that cite your selected articles(s). You can also sort your results list by citation count.
Latest articles from 'The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition'
Do you need to find peer reviewed or refereed journals for your assessment? The video below can show you how.