Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NRS538 Research Skills Guide: A Refresher on Databases

DATABASES FOR NRS538

CSU Library has access to two health-management databases:

  • Health Business Elite - an EBSCOhost database which covers health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health-care institution management.
  • Health Management Database - a ProQuest database which covers health administration.

Note that these databases are in two of the major database platforms - EBSCOhost and ProQuest.

These "platforms" will be useful for this subject because they have other important nursing/allied health databases (and also important business databases):

Database Platform: includes the following individual databases:
EBSCOhost
  • Health Business Elite
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • Business Source Complete
ProQuest
  • Health Management Database
  • Nursing and Allied Health Source
  • Health and Medical Collection
  • ABI/INFORM Collection

A third database platform, Ovid, gives access to MEDLINE, while a fourth, Informit, is an Australian product, and gives access to a number of Australian databases in health, social sciences, and public affairs.

The advantage of searching in a platform such as EBSCOhost or ProQuest is that you can search across multiple databases at once.

See below for more information about databases and database platforms.

DATABASES AND DATABASE PLATFORMS

It’s helpful to know the difference between a database, and a database provider.

A DATABASE is an organised collection of information records that can be accessed electronically. In the Library this includes databases which have:

  • journal article (and other) citations, where there is no full-text;
  • journal article (and other) citations, where there all records have the full-text attached;
  • a mixture of the first two above (this is the most common);
  • other types of records, eg. videos, images, or listings of people or companies.

A DATABASE PLATFORM is a company which provides access to a number of databases, via a search interface unique to that company, where the databases can be searched/browsed individually or together.

The table below shows the four main database platforms, and examples of databases in each one.

THE 4 MAIN DATABASE PLATFORMS

 

Database Platform: includes the following individual databases:
EBSCOhost
  • Health Business Elite
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • (and many others)
ProQuest
  • ABI/INFORM Collection
  • Nursing and Allied Health Source
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
  • (and many others)
Ovid
  • MEDLINE
  • EBM Reviews - Full Text
  • (and many others)
Informit
  • Health Collection
  • Rural & Remote Health
  • (and many others)

 

How do you change databases or choose other databases within the main platforms?

EBSCOhost:

  • At the search screen, click on Choose Databases (link is above the search box(es))
  • At the menu of databases, tick or untick the boxes for the databases you wish to select or deselect
  • Click on OK.

 

ProQuest:

  • At the search screen, click on the link to Change Databases - the link is in the line of links below the ProQuest banner
  • At the menu of databases, locate the database(s) you require in the hierarchy of databases (this can be a bit tricky)
  • Tick or untick the boxes for the databases you wish to select or deselect
  • Click on Use selected databases.

 

Ovid:

  • In the search panel, click on the link to Change, below the tabs for search modes
  • At the menu of databases, tick or untick the boxes for the databases you wish to select or deselect
  • Click on OK.

 

 

Informit platform - change databases linkInformit:

  • On the search screen, click on CHANGE DATABASES
  • You can choose different lists of databases, including by Subject, a full list by name, and a list of databases-containing-full-text-material by name
  • Tick or untick the boxes for the databases you wish to select or deselect and click on UPDATE SELECTION.

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.