Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NRS538 Research Skills Guide: EBSCOhost

Introduction to EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost is a database platform which gives access to a number of databases covering a range of subjects. It is particularly strong in the area of health sciences.

In the course of your nursing and/or health studies, you might have come across CINAHL Plus with Full Text, an important database for nursing and allied health. This is an EBSCOhost database.

As already noted, there is also a database in EBSCOhost called Health Business  Elite, and there are other health-related and other business-related databases. Databases of relevance to NRS538 might be:

You can also search in:

For help with searching multiple databases in EBSCOhost at the same time, please see Searching in more than one database in EBSCOhost below.

Searching in EBSCOhost

Here are some tips on searching in EBSCOhost:

  • The default is to the Advanced Search screen, with 3 "lines" of search.
  • The default of Select a Field (optional) means that your search terms will be searched for in the main fields of each record - notably title, abstract, and subject headings. You can make your search narrower if you change this to TI Title or to SU Subject.
  • If you are searching only in CINAHL Plus with Full Text, and want to find a CINAHL Heading that matches your topic, enter your search terms in the search box, tick the Suggest subject terms box, and click on Search. For more on this useful way of searching in CINAHL, please contact Tim at the Library as below. 
  • The default is to a keyword search so typing in refugee health will search for refugee AND health. If you wish to search for a phrase you need to enclose the words in double quotation marks: "refugee health".
  • There are various limiters available in EBSCOhost databases. You can apply these at the time of searching - this works best if you are searching in only one database - or after a search has been run.
  • As well as a keyword search  - eg. "refugee health" AND australia - you can also do a proximity search. If you type in "refugee health" N4 australia, you will search only for articles where these search terms appear within 4 words of each other. (You can make the number whatever you like.) This is a good compromise between a phrase search, which might be too specific, and a keyword search, which might be too broad.
  • Many results will be available in full-text. Look for the HTML or PDF links to access the full article. For results where there is no full-text link, click on the Find it at CSU link to search for the full article in other CSU Library databases.
  • You can do as much searching as you like, and return to the results later. To see previous searches, click on the Search history link which is beneath the search boxes.
  • If you wish to permanently save articles and searches, or set up search alerts, you need a personal account/folder in EBSCOhost. Here's how to set it up:
  1. At the top right of screen, click on Sign in.
  2. Beneath the login and password boxes, click on the link for Create a new Account.
  3. Follow the instructions and prompts to set up your new Account.
  4. Make a note of your login and password for future use!

For individual help with using EBSCOhost, please contact the Library or use the Ask a Librarian forum on the NRS538 Interact2 site.

Searching in more than one database in EBSCOhost

As mentioned above, you can search across multiple databases in the EBSCOhost platform.

There are two ways to do this ...

EBSCOhost databases menu1. When already searching in any EBSCOhost database, you can click on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes, then select other databases in the tick-box menu. You will search across all the databases that are ticked.

 

2. Go to the EBSCOhost (Health) option in the list of Allied Health databases. This will open a predetermined package of EBSCOhost databases, all with health-related content. The package includes both CINAHL Plus with Full Text, and Health Business Full Text Elite.

Top of Allied Health databases list, showing EBSCOhost (Health) option

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.