It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal databases are organised collections of information records that can be accessed electronically, we use them to find & access journal articles, they:
Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
Help you locate peer reviewed articles
Are generally subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
Have many options for refining results
Link between themselves, so that an abstract found in one database can help you find the full text in another database - if it is held by CSU Library
The CINAHL database explored on this page is just one of many databases the CSU Library subscribes to. You can access other Library databases from the A-Z Databases page. Databases are grouped into subject areas, select an area related to your study, such as Nursing to see relevant journal databases.
Activity 4 - Journal Databases: CINAHL
In the CINAHL database try searching for the keywords – "media representation" AND nurs* (* is a truncation symbol and "" double quotation marks are used to search for a phrase, see the Search Strategiespage for more information).
Note: You may need to sign in first with your CSU username and password
Notice the number of results you get? Much less than Primo Search and Google Scholar? However you should find these results are quite relevant to your topic.
Try limiting by publication date, 2014-2019 to see the most recently published articles.
Look for the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
If you cannot find the full text click on the button to check if the article is available elsewhere.
A package of eight EBSCOhost databases, all of which include Health-related material and a considerable amount of full-text content. Includes an important Dentistry database and an important Nursing and Allied Health database.
The databases are:
* Academic Search Complete;
* CINAHL Plus with Full Text;
* Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source;
* Health Business Fulltext Elite;
* Health Source: Consumer Edition;
* Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition;
* Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection;
* SocINDEX with Full Text.
All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
A significant international database covering nursing and allied health, available in the EBSCOhost platform with much available in full-text.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the well known index to literature in the fields of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is available as an EBSCOhost database and is actually a combination of 3 databases: CINAHL Plus with Full Text, CINAHL Select, and PreCINAHL. It provides the CINAHL index to journals in the areas of nursing and allied health, but also provides the full-text of more than 560 of these journals. Other resources that are indexed include: legal cases, drug records, clinical trials, professional publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
While the traditional CINAHL includes material dating from 1982, CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes material going back to 1937.
The database is updated weekly.
This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. It is also available to CSU users as part of the EBSCOhost (Health) package. Once you are on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
An Informit Australian database of entirely full-text content covering allied health, nursing, ageing and aged care, child health, indigenous health, mental health, and rehabilitation. The link here will take you to a search of the Informit platform with a filter for Health Collection applied. See more ... below.
Specific subjects covered include: audiology; biotechnology; children's health; complementary medicine; continence/urology; counselling; diseases; epidemiology; geriatric health; health management; indigenous health; medicine; medical informatics; mental illness; neurology; nuclear medicine; nursing; occupational therapy; physiotherapy; psychoanalysis; rehabilitation; rural health; and substance abuse.
Content includes research articles, reports and case studies. Informit claims that many of the peer-reviewed journals included in Health Collection are uniquely available through Informit. The database also provides access to some full-text books and to grey literature such as conference proceedings and reports.
Coverage extends back to 1977.
NOTE ON SEARCHING: The search screen should have two search boxes, and should have a filter applied for this particular database
To search only in Health Collection:
• Ensure you search only using the box at the top of the screen
• Ensure you are searching “In this topic”
• Don’t click on Advanced Search or Citation Search.
If you are NOT searching in the top search box or you are NOT searching “In this topic” then you will be searching across the entire Informit platform. If that happens, you can still refine your search results to Health Collection results only, if you wish.