It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Topics covered include: the midwifery profession; pregnancy; labour; birth; postnatal care; neonatal care for the first year of an infant's life; infant feeding; and the transition to parenthood.
Coverage is from the mid-1980s onward, and approximately 1000 records are added per month.
Maternity and Infant Care is one of many databases available in the Ovid platform. Once in Ovid, you can you can change to another database by clicking on the Change link in the main search panel. Other health-related databases in Ovid include MEDLINE in various date packages, and a range of EBM Reviews databases. You can search all Ovid databases individually or in any combination.
A significant international database covering nursing and allied health, available in the EBSCOhost platform with much available in full-text.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the well known index to literature in the fields of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is available as an EBSCOhost database and is actually a combination of 3 databases: CINAHL Plus with Full Text, CINAHL Select, and PreCINAHL. It provides the CINAHL index to journals in the areas of nursing and allied health, but also provides the full-text of more than 560 of these journals. Other resources that are indexed include: legal cases, drug records, clinical trials, professional publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
While the traditional CINAHL includes material dating from 1982, CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes material going back to 1937.
The database is updated weekly.
This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. It is also available to you as part of the EBSCOhost (Health) package. Once you are on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
The main product of the Joanna Briggs Institute, offering resources in evidence-based healthcare, available here on the Ovid platform, where it is titled The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database.
JBI COnNECT+ is an online gateway to evidence-based resources and tools for clinical decision-making process and best practice in nursing and allied health.
It comprises a series of sites on selected areas of health, referred to as nodes:
* aged care
* burns care
* cancer care
* cardiovascular care
* chronic disease
* community health
* diagnostic imaging
* emergency and trauma
* general medicine
* health management and assessment
* infection control
* mental health
* midwifery care
* renal care
* surgical services
* tropical and infectious disease
* wound healing and management.
The types of publication in JBI COnNECT+ include:
* best practice information sheets;
* consumer information sheets;
* evidence summaries;
* evidence based recommended practices;
* systematic review protocols;
* systematic reviews;
* technical reports.
As well as the databases of Evidence-Based Practice material, this resource also gives access to two of JBI's EBP tools - PACES and SUMARI. To get access to these tools please follow the instructions in Ovid's Accessing JBI tools for the first time. Access depends on having, or creating, a personal account in Ovid. (Note that Ovid has a help page on Create a personal account.)
For help with access to the JBI resources via Ovid, and for access to various help and information resources, please see Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Resources on Ovid, which is customised for Charles Sturt users. (Note: you can search from this page but the results will be presented in the Ovid interface.)
An Ovid database which covers nursing and allied health and includes primarily evidence-based clinical content.
Emcare indexes more than 3,700 international journals, including more than 1,800 journals not available on other databases. It includes nearly 5 million records dating back to 1995. 70% of records contain online abstracts.
Subjects covered include:
* Critical & Intensive Care
* Emergency Services
* Geriatrics & Palliative Care
* Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine
* Behavioral Science & Psychology
* Complementary Medicine
* Medical & Laboratory Technology
* Nutrition & Dietetics
* Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation
* Public & Occupational Health.
A ProQuest database of journals and articles (including more than 1,050 full-text journals), and other content, covering all aspects of nursing and allied health.
In addition to the journal content, this database includes:
* more than 12,300 full text dissertations covering nursing and related fields;
* chapters from online reference books in nursing;
* training videos from Medcom, Inc.;
* chapters from online reference books in nursing;
* multicultural reports from CultureVision;
* study paths as a method to find key topics and recommended reading.
Coverage is from 1986 present.
Nursing and Allied Health Source is one of many databases available in the ProQuest platform. Once in ProQuest, you can change to any other ProQuest database, by clicking on the "Searching: ... databases" link at the top left of the search screen. Other health-related databases in ProQuest include Health and Medical Collection, Consumer Health Database, and Public Health Database. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination. If you want to search more broadly in the ProQuest platform, ProQuest Health and Medicine Databases is a subject package of several health-related databases.
Free (in Australia) access to international evidence-based healthcare resources, with much in full-text. Produced by the Cochrane Collaboration.
The Cochrane Library is the main product of the Cochrane Collaboration, whose stated role is to make available systematic reviews of healthcare interventions, while promoting the search for evidence in the form of clinical trials and other studies of interventions.
There are two main databases in the Cochrane Library, as follows:
* Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (aka Cochrane Reviews, CDSR)
* Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (aka CENTRAL, Clinical Trials).
Cochrane Library also includes Cochrane Clinical Answers - short, clinically-focussed entry-points to research; Special Collections - curated collections on specific healthcare topics; and search access to the Epistemonikos health evidence database.
It is the Database of Systematic Reviews that is the main resource. This database includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols, which are reviews in preparation) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups. It also includes editorials and supplements. Material in this database is available in full-text.
When you search the Cochrane Library you will get results, in a tabbed format, from: Cochrane Reviews, Cochrane Protocols, Trials, Editorials, Special Collections, and Clinical Answers. A search performed in Basic Search will also return results from Epistemonikos (under the tab of "Other").
Cochrane Library is a subscription resource, but under an arrangement between the Australian Government and the Cochrane Collaboration, the resource is available free to internet users anywhere in Australia.
In addition to access via Cochrane, Charles Sturt users can access the Cochrane Library databases via Ovid platform, where they are listed separately with titles beginning with EBM Reviews ....
A package of eight EBSCOhost databases, all of which include Health-related material and a considerable amount of full-text content. Includes an important Dentistry database and an important Nursing and Allied Health database.
The databases are:
* Academic Search Complete;
* CINAHL Plus with Full Text;
* Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source;
* Health Business Fulltext Elite;
* Health Source: Consumer Edition;
* Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition;
* Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection;
* SocINDEX with Full Text.
All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
Do you need to find peer reviewed or refereed journals for your assessment? The video below can show you how.