Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MHP112 Research Skills Guide: Use Journal Databases

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

  • Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results

You can find the Library's databases on the Journal Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. The Allied Health and Indigenous Studies lists will be particularly useful for your study. As this subject crosses different disciplines, you will probably need to search in more than one database.

Informit (Indigenous)

Informit is an Australian multidisciplinary collection of databases containing journal articles, reports and other sources of scholarly information. Click on the How to Search Informit Databases video on the right for some handy tips.

Informit (Indigenous) is a useful package of 15 Informit databases identified as having indigenous content, some of which is available in full-text. It is a good place to search for Australian material for your assessment tasks. Do use other databases as well (linked to above) if you are needing a broader picture.

Searching in a database

Activity

Go to the Informit (Indigenous) search page and try typing in Indigenous health AND "emotional wellbeing".  Another popular database that is easy to use is ProQuest.

  • Did you get less results than Primo Search and Google Scholar? Being an Australian Indigenous database, they should be more relevant to your topic.
  • Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
  • If you cannot find the full text click on the Find it button to check if the article is available elsewhere.

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.