Writing Your Assessment
Once you've determined the information you want to include in your assessment, you can begin the writing process.
You may find some of the following Academic Skills team resources helpful when you're constructing your report (links are to PDF documents):
Or take a look at the Study Skills Writing at Uni page for links to more helpful tips.
WHERE CAN I FIND MORE INFORMATION?
A quick search in Google will reveal a number of useful resources about how to write an annotated bibliography. Keep an eye out for resources by educational institutions, particularly those ending in edu.au.
Here are some resources you may find useful:
- Annotated Bibliography by the University of New South Wales. Describes the purpose of an annotated bibliography; breaks the task of creating an annotated bibliography into many smaller parts; includes focus questions; and offers an example annotation.
- Writing an Annotated Bibliography by Queensland University of Technology. Discusses why you might write an annotated bibliography; breaks the task of creating an annotated bibliography into three sections; and includes a revision checklist.
What is a literature review
Now that you have defined your topic, the next step is to start a literature review. Literature reviews summarises, interprets and critically evaluates material that has already been published on a topic. The purpose is to establish current knowledge of a subject, identify gaps, inconsistencies and relations in the literature as well as outline areas for additional research and/or define a topic of inquiry.
If you are interested in further information about conducting literature reviews check out the Library Guide on Literature Reviews.
Adopted from Charles Sturt University Library. (2017). Literature review. Retrieved from http://libguides.csu.edu.au/review
Academic writing support
Charles Sturt University also has other services which can help you to get the best possible results for your work:
- Academic writing, assignments and essays - workshops, guides and video tutorials covering all aspects of academic writing including case study and report writing skills.
- Academic Skills help - Academic Skills advisers can help you understand and prepare for your assignments. Access support guides, make an appointment or submit your assessment for feedback.
- The Study Success Forum is an ideal place to post those vexing questions about assignment writing techniques. Find it in Interact2 > Study Success > Discussion.
- Why not attend an Academic Skills workshop online to enhance or refresh your academic writing skills?