What is EndNote?

EndNote is a bibliographic or reference management program. It can be used to:

  • Record and manage the details of journals and books you have found in your research;
  • Store and manage PDF copies of articles you download, or link to them in the journal databases; and
  • Allow you to annotate and add notes to PDFs.
  • Insert citations and bibliography entries in Microsoft Word documents in a range of referencing styles, including APA 6th.

For detailed information on how to use EndNote please see CSU Library's EndNote Guide

Downloading Endnote

Before installing the latest version of EndNote on a personal computer, please ensure you have uninstalled any previous versions of EndNote, including demo copies (30-day trial), from your computer. For information on how to uninstall EndNote please see Uninstalling EndNote in our Endnote Guide.

For information on how to Install EndNote please see Download & Install in our EndNote Guide

Endnote on Macintosh: in six minutes

EndNote on Macintosh: the short course (6min 0sec)


Please note:

  1. This video assumes familiarity with the Macintosh™ operating system
  2. CSU subscribed databases such as EBSCO and Web of Science cannot be accessed using the Online Search mode described in this video. Records from Primo Search and other Library databases can usually be exported / downloaded to EndNote directly from the databases
  3. The Find Full Text option described in this video will work better from off-campus if you add the Library proxy server details to your EndNote Preferences

Want to Learn More About Endnote? Online Library Workshops

The Library holds Online Library Workshops (OLWs) at various times throughout the year. The OLWs are conducted in real-time and you can attend from the comfort of your home or favourite study space. They cover a variety of topics including EndNote. For more information and to register, head to the Library's OLW page.

Register for an Online Library Workshop

EndNote on Windows: The short course

EndNote on Windows: the short course (22min 47sec)


Please note:

  1. This video assumes familiarity with Windows™ operating system
  2. CSU subscribed databases such as EBSCO and Web of Science cannot be accessed using the Online Search mode described in this video. Records from Primo Search and other Library databases can usually be exported / downloaded to EndNote directly from the databases.
  3. The Find Full Text option described in this video will work better from off-campus if you add the Library proxy server details to your EndNote Preferences

EndNote Recorded Workshops

Watch the recordings linked below to learn how to:

  • Find and download EndNote
  • create an EndNote Library, and add references manually
  • import references from online sources and edit them to comply with APA style
  • attach PDFs to references and annotate the PDFs
  • create and use groups in your EndNote Library
  • use Cite While You Write to insert and manage citations and reference list entries in Word.