It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a not-for-profit online collection of nearly 4,700 eBooks in the humanities. These are presented by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with more than 30 learned societies, and other publishers.
Specific topics covered include: area studies; history; archaeology; art & architectural history; performance, film & media studies; folklore; religion; musicology; political science; literary criticism; sociology; and bibliographical studies.
You can browse this collection by author, title, or subject. There are also various search options including Basic Search, Boolean Search, Proximity Search, and Bibliographic Search.
You can view these books online, or download 10-page excerpts. You may print only for personal research purposes. It is best to print using the PDF viewing option, and you can download or print 10 pages at a time.
You can also access book reviews from major journals.
OSO eBooks has a selection of scholarly eBooks covering mainly subjects in the humanities and social sciences, including law, religion, and philosophy & ethics.
Other subjects covered include political science, psychology, social work, business & management, biology, history, economics & finance, public health & epidemiology, linguistics, and literature.
Charles Sturt has full-text access to most of the items in this collection. You can filter your search so that it returns only items available in full-text. Full-text availability is indicated by a green Unlocked icon, a green Free icon, or an orange Open Access icon
You can search using a simple search or Advanced Search, or you can browse by subject. When you have done a search or a browse, you can refine results using the Narrow Your Choices panel on the left of screen. Refining options include Availability, Recently Published, and Subject.
Your results will be in the form of book titles, with a contents list of chapters/sections. Each chapter/section is available in HTML, with a small link to View PDF at the right of screen.
A collection of thousands of eBooks published by Springer, covering biomedical & life sciences, computer science, earth & environmental science, humanities, social sciences & law, and medicine.
These eBooks are available in the SpringerLink database, which contains journals and reference works as well as books. It also contains some content that Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to.
The link here takes you to a browse list of available eBooks, and if you search using the search box at the top of screen, your searching should be across available eBook titles.
However, if you use the Search Options > Advanced Search at the right of the search box, your search will be across all content in SpringerLink, including journals and articles and unsubscribed ("preview-only") content.
You can limit your search to subscribed material by unticking the "Include preview-only content" box at the bottom of the search screen, and you can refine your results to show only book, or book chapter, material, by using the refiners in the panel at the left of a results list.
A collection of eBooks on a range of topics, covering the humanities & social sciences.
Charles Sturt Library does not subscribe to all the eBooks in this collection, so you might get many results that are not available in full-text. These are marked with a locked padlock icon on a grey background.
You can filter (refine) your results to show only those that are available in full-text. These are marked with an unlocked padlock icon on a blue background.
When you have applied a filter, that filter persists in your searching until you remove it. This can assist in finding full-text material.
You can filter results by other criteria as well, including by subject and by date.
When you access an eBook, you can read it online (opens in a new browser window) or download it (opens the entire book in Adobe Reader).
Reading and downloading eBooks
Arrangements for viewing and downloading eBooks vary according to the collection they are in.
Generally, you can read an eBook online using the "read online" interface in the collection, or download the eBook to your computer or mobile device. Downloading to your computer requires the free software Adobe Digital Editions, while downloading to a device requires a free app - Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).
There are sometimes limits on the number of concurrent users for an eBook, and often limits on how much you can print and copy.
For more assistance with finding and using eBooks, see the Library Resource Guide on eBooks.