Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

JST497 Research Skills Guide: Use Journal Databases

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

  • Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results

You can find the Library's databases on the Journal Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. Some of the Policing, Security & Emergency Management & Law & Government journal databases  will be particularly useful for your study. For example:

OR

Activity

In the EBSCOhost International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center database try searching for keywords you identified from your topic analysis, or try searching for the following terms:

"multi agency" OR "inter agency" OR partnership*

AND

investigat*

undefined

  • You'll notice that some search tips or techniques have been used in this example, "" quotation marks are used to force a phrase search, AND is used to combine concepts or ideas & OR is used to search for synonyms. For more information please see the Search Tips page in this guide.
  • To identify academic or scholarly journal articles try selecting the Refine Results option: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. 
  • Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
  • If you cannot find the full text click on the Find it at CSU button to check if the article is available elsewhere.

EBSCOhost Advanced Searching

How to search Informit