Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Islamic Studies: Specialised subject resources

Doctoral Dissertations in Islamic Studies

Researchers and librarians working in Islamic Studies will now for the first time have online access to nearly 1000 Ph.D. theses in the subject, spanning over ten years. JISC, The Academy and the British Library have combined their resources to bring together Islamic Studies theses from universities across the UK and Ireland.

Other Sources for Dissertations

ProQuest database providing the electronic equivalent of Dissertation Abstracts International. Beginning with the first U.S. dissertation in 1861, represents the work of authors from North American and European universities on a full range of academic subjects.

Australasian Digital Theses Program, now part of TROVE

Indexes theses produced at Australian and New Zealand universities. Includes access to 150,000 theses, with over 5,000 available full-text online. Provides links to home institutions for access to non-digitized theses. 

DOAB - Directory of open Access Books

DOAB - The Directory of Open Access Books 

The fast-growing collection contains approximately  37,000 titles from over 600 reliable publishers, published under an open-access Creative Commons license. This includes an increasing number of titles on Islamic Studies across a range of subject areas, all available for free full-text download.

Datasets

Adnan, A.A.Z., Khan, N.R., Rosdi, S.A., Yunus, N.K.Y., Ghouri, A.M., Haq, M.A. (2018) Survey dataset on Muslim’s religiosity, Muslim personality and work behavior. Data in Brief 21, 1880-1885. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.dib.2018.10.169

Data were collected from administration officers ranging from middle-management to top management of the five universities of Malaysia chosen for this research. The data will be useful for an analysis in various areas, that is, Psychology and Organizational Behavior, that is, organizational psychology, developmental psychology, cultural impact, norms and beliefs and behavior, religion as actor of change.

Islamic Studies

Illuminated manuscript

photo credit: sukisuki via photopin cc

MANUSCRIPT collections

Manuscripts | Digital Resources and Projects in Islamic Studies from Maydan

A growing list of manuscripts collections, digitized manuscripts, and manuscripts catalogues from universities and libraries around the world, 30 collections listed in September 2020.  A wide range of subject areas covered, in a variety of languages including Arabic, Persian, Indonesian, and Ottoman Turkish. Additional items included selection of miniature paintings from the Persian, Mughul and Indian traditions (Minassian collection) Persian and Central Asian ceramics (Minassian collection),  coins and medals (Digital Vatican library).

Historiography

Middle East & Islamic Studies Guide - Duke University

The Duke University Library Research Guide to Middle East & Islamic Studies covers a huge range of resources. Not all material will be accessible to students of Charles Sturt University, but  the Guide is valuable for the  breadth of coverage, especially of publications in Arabic and Turkish languages.