It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A collection of more than 50 eBooks covering Middle East and Islamic Studies.
When you follow the link (above) to this collection you will see a list of the 53 eBooks to which Charles Sturt Library subscribes. They are marked with a green unlocked-padlock icon to the left of the title. You can filter this list by subject, but most (44) are in the category of Middle East and Islamic Studies.
Clicking on a title takes you to the full eBook, with a link to a PDF of the entire book, and a tab for individual chapters, each one available in HTML or as a PDF.
Please note that if you move away from this list, to browse or search, you will be browsing/searching the entire Brill Online Books and Journals collection, and your results will include non-full-text items. But you can refine your results to Subscribed Content, or Free Access, or Open Access content. Items with full-text will have the green unlocked-padlock icon.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a not-for-profit online collection of nearly 4,700 eBooks in the humanities. These are presented by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with more than 30 learned societies, and other publishers.
Specific topics covered include: area studies; history; archaeology; art & architectural history; performance, film & media studies; folklore; religion; musicology; political science; literary criticism; sociology; and bibliographical studies.
You can browse this collection by author, title, or subject. There are also various search options including Basic Search, Boolean Search, Proximity Search, and Bibliographic Search.
You can view these books online, or download 10-page excerpts. You may print only for personal research purposes. It is best to print using the PDF viewing option, and you can download or print 10 pages at a time.
You can also access book reviews from major journals.
A collection of eBooks in the EBSCOhost platform, covering a huge range of subject areas.
Access and usage conditions vary for books within this collection. But if you wish to download a book for offline use, you will need to have an EBSCOhost personal sign-in, and you will need to have the software Adobe Digital Editions loaded to your computer.
A searchable archive of full-text journals, covering all subject areas. It is an archive of back-files only and does not include current issues. The collection also includes eBooks.
In the case of the eJournals, each journal publisher has determined what years will be available within the database. In some instances publishers have excluded only the current year. In other cases the publisher might have excluded the current and preceding two, three or four years. But the database contains literally hundreds of full-text journals, some of which are available over quite lengthy periods.
Charles Sturt does not subscribe to all the journals or all the eBooks but, when you search, you should see only content with a Read and download access level, meaning available in full-text. There is an option to display All content, and your results list will then include non-full-text items, designated with a cross icon to the left of the record.
In Advanced Search you can narrow by Item type, with options including articles, and books.
You can also browse by title, publisher, or subject.
You can also try the Library's main, multi-subject collection, of eBooks ...
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. It is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
Reading and downloading eBooks
Arrangements for viewing and downloading eBooks vary according to the collection they are in.
Generally, you can read an eBook online using the "read online" interface in the collection, or download the eBook to your computer or mobile device. Downloading to your computer requires the free software Adobe Digital Editions, while downloading to a device requires a free app - Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).
There are sometimes limits on the number of concurrent users for an eBook, and often limits on how much you can print and copy.
For more assistance with finding and using eBooks, see the Library Resource Guide on eBooks.