It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a not-for-profit online collection of nearly 4,700 eBooks in the humanities. These are presented by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with more than 30 learned societies, and other publishers.
Specific topics covered include: area studies; history; archaeology; art & architectural history; performance, film & media studies; folklore; religion; musicology; political science; literary criticism; sociology; and bibliographical studies.
You can browse this collection by author, title, or subject. There are also various search options including Basic Search, Boolean Search, Proximity Search, and Bibliographic Search.
You can view these books online, or download 10-page excerpts. You may print only for personal research purposes. It is best to print using the PDF viewing option, and you can download or print 10 pages at a time.
You can also access book reviews from major journals.
OSO eBooks has a selection of scholarly eBooks covering mainly subjects in the humanities and social sciences, including law, religion, and philosophy & ethics.
Other subjects covered include political science, psychology, social work, business & management, biology, history, economics & finance, public health & epidemiology, linguistics, and literature.
CSU has full-text access to most of the items in this collection. Full-text availability is indicated by a green unlocked-padlock icon.
You can search using a simple search or Advanced Search, or you can browse by subject. When you have done a search or a browse, you can refine results using the Narrow Your Choices panel on the left of screen. Refining options include Availability, Recently Published, and Subject.
Your results will be in the form of book titles, with a contents list of chapters/sections. Each chapter/section is available in HTML, with a small link to View PDF at the right of screen.
ProQuest Ebook Central, previously known as EBL, is a huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. Thousands of EBL titles have been purchased for permanent use. You can also access a number of titles not yet purchased by CSU Library.
You can access eBooks in ProQuest Ebook Central under one of 3 lending "models":
* Unlimited concurrent users (multi-user);
* Non-linear lending: unlimited concurrent users, but limited to 325 "loans" in a year;
* Textbook: limited to a maximum of 3 concurrent users.
You can read books online, or download for periods varying from 1 to 7 days. If you wish to download an EBL eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).
Arrangements for viewing and downloading eBooks vary according to the collection they are in.
Generally, you can read an eBook online using the "read online" interface in the collection, or download the eBook to your computer or mobile device. Downloading to your computer requires the free software Adobe Digital Editions, while downloading to a device requires a free app - Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).
There are sometimes limits on the number of concurrent users for an eBook, and often limits on how much you can print and copy.
For more assistance with finding and using eBooks, see the Library Resource Guide on eBooks.