Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching in CINAHL
Why search directly in a database? Because the databases:
subject-specific, and give more targeted results have
extra and more sophisticated search functions.
Why search in
CINAHL? Because it is an important international database for nursing and allied health.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is available to us in the EBSCOhost platform. When you log in, you get the EBSCOhost Advanced Search screen:
Simply enter your search terms and click on
Search. For example, to find information on
communication in inter-professional health care teams you could search for:
[AND] "health care teams"
Remember, we use double quotation marks to search for a specific phrase.
Your results display as
brief records below the search boxes:
Many of the results in
CINAHL will be available in full-text – that is, the full article will be available within the database.
Some of the results won't have the full-text attached. In those cases, click on the link, which searches for the full article elsewhere in the Library's online subscriptions.
The link takes you to the record for the article in Primo Search. From there, click on one of the listed databases to get to the full article.
Searching in CINAHL - EBSCOhost Video
This video looks at using
Advanced Search in CINAHL, and using Search History to combine multiple searches.