It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A commercial image bank of fine art images from around the world.
Bridgeman Art Library, also known as Bridgeman Images, is a commercial online image bank of images covering more than 8000 collections and 29,000 artists. All images have been catalogued with full picture data, with keywords added to help searching, and the database includes Quick and Advanced Search.
Bridgeman Art Library claims to "represent museums, galleries and artists throughout the world by providing a central source of fine art for image users" and to provide "an archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world, all of which are available for licensing".
So its main purpose is to make images of artworks available for commercial use. This means that there are limitations on use, and CSU users accessing this resource will be taken via a webpage where they need to indicate that they agree with these conditions.
>em>Bridgeman Art Library is similar to, but not exactly the same as, Bridgeman Education. There are differences in content and functionality. Bridgeman Education is recommended as it is a subscription resource.
A digital image database of more than 300,000 images for use as an educational resource.
This database is a resource for educators and students who need to use images for teaching, presentations, special projects, or other education-related purposes. These images are sourced from major art collections, museums, and historical sites around the world.
Images include: photography; fine art; portraits; ceramics; engravings, lithographs, and prints; frescoes; sculpture; decorative arts; glassware; artefacts; and manuscripts. Subjects covered include architecture; archaeology and ethnography; arts; history; science; and medicine.
The database has various search options including Quicksearch, Advanced Search, and Search Indexes. The latter is a unique way of searching Bridgeman Education and involves searching via one of nine special search indexes.
The database is updated daily, and about 500 images are added each week.
NOTE: While the images in Bridgeman Education can be downloaded and used for educational purposes, there are restrictions on use, and CSU users accessing this resource will be taken via a webpage where they need to indicate that they agree to these conditions.
ALSO NOTE: Bridgeman Education is similar to, but not exactly the same as, the Bridgeman Art Library. There are differences in content and functionality. For example, Bridgeman Education includes the best image from the Bridgeman Art Library's large picture archive. Bridgeman Education is recommended as it is a subscription resource.
A combination of the Grove Art Online resource and three Oxford art reference publications: the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1st edition), and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford Art Online is the gateway to the content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference publications in one location.
It also includes links to image partners including ARTstor; Bridgeman Education; the British Museum; the Museum of Modern Art (New York); the Metropolitan Museum of Art; Art Images for College Teaching; Art Resource; Artists Rights Society; and numerous international art galleries and artists.