It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An Australian Informit database of citations and article summaries, with some full-text. Produced by the National Sport Information Centre, Australian Sports Commission. Covers all aspects of Australian sport. The link here will take you to a search of the Informit platform with a filter for Ausport applied. See more ... below.
Specific topics include sports administration, sports medicine, sports psychology, coaching, sport for children, economics of sport, and the Olympic Games.
The database began in 1989, but includes some selected earlier items.
NOTE ON SEARCHING: The search screen should have two search boxes, and should have a filter applied for this particular database.
To search only in this particular database:
• Ensure you search only using the box at the top of the screen
• Ensure you are searching “In this topic”
• Don’t click on Advanced Search or Citation Search.
If you are NOT searching in the top search box or you are NOT searching “In this topic” then you will be searching across the entire Informit platform. If that happens, you can still refine your search results to Ausport results only, if you wish.
ScienceDirect is an Elsevier database of scientific content from journals and books, which gives comprehensive coverage of the sciences and social sciences.
Material is organised in the major subject areas of:
- physical sciences and engineering;
- life sciences;
- health sciences;
- social sciences and humanities.
CSU Library does not subscribe to all of the content in ScienceDirect, but the subscription does include the full-text of approximately 2,100 of the 2,500 journals. There is some full-text eBook content available as well. Search results are available in the form of journal articles and book chapters.
If you wish to limit your search to full-text content, go to Advanced Search, and tick the box(es) for Subscribed publications and/or Open Access articles. At the same screen, you can also specify Journal or Book (or both) content.
For journal article results where the full-text is NOT available, click on the article title to go to the full record, then click on the SFX button to search for the full-text in other CSU Library subscription resources.
Most full-text content is available from 1995 onward and, for some journals, the content is available from Volume 1. New titles are added regularly.
Elsevier also produces the Scopus database, a huge abstract and citation database which has more than 53 million records from nearly 22,000 titles from 5,000 publishers.
An EBSCOhost database of journal and other citations, with much available in full-text, covering all aspects of sports, sports science, physical education, sports medicine, and sports administration.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text has references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and theses and dissertations. There are more than 750,000 records dating back to 1800.
The database also includes the full-text of more than 350 journals dating back to 1985.
An online collection of searchable videos that covers fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, and exercise adherence.
This collection features physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dieticians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts.
Titles in the collection have been approved for educational use by several professional organisations including the American College of Sports Medicine, the National Athletic Trainers Association, the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine, the American Council on Exercise, the National Strength and Conditioning Association, and the Medical Fitness Association.
The collection can be searched and browsed, and has a number of features that assist in its use as an educational resource. Features include:
* video browse and search capabilities;
* multiple points of access: browses, searches, thumbnail images, transcripts;
* synchronised, searchable transcripts;
* video clip-making tools;
* annotated playlists: users can make, annotate, and share playlists and clips, and can include links to materials or resources outside the collection;
* sharing of video by embeddable links.
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical medical resource which includes medical and patient information, drug information, and a number of medical calculators. It is continuously updated and is designed as a point-of-care clinical resource.
The main content consists of 11,000 topics across 25 medical specialities, which are written, edited, and reviewed by authors, experts, and peer-reviewers from around the world. Each topic includes a prominent Summary section or Summary and Recommendations section.
Other features include:
• 1500 patient education topics
• 33,000 graphics
• access to Lexi-comp drug monographs
• more than 175 medical calculators
• What’s New and Practice-Changing Updates
• UptoDate Pathways.
UptoDate has an uncluttered user-friendly interface. You can search across the whole resource, or, from the top tab-bar, you can access the Contents, Calculators, Drug interactions, and UptoDate Pathways. You can navigate between topics using hyperlinks in the text.
For information about UpToDate's peer review process, see the page on Editorial Policy.
Latest articles from the journal: BMJ Open Sport & Exercise Medicine
Do you need to find peer reviewed or refereed journals for your assessment? The video below can show you how.