It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A collection of the 672 Engineering & Technology eBooks that Charles Sturt subscribes to in Taylor & Francis eBooks.
The link here is to the browse list of eBooks in this subject category. From there you can drill down into narrower subject categories, or search within Engineering & Technology. All the results of browsing and searching should be available to you in full-text.
In your results list there are tabs for Book results, and Chapter results.
If you click on the Taylor & Francis logo at the top left of screen, you will be taken to the full collection, where you can search the collection or browse other subject categories. Charles Sturt has other subscriptions in the categories of Built Environment, Earth Sciences, and Environment & Agriculture. At any time when you have searched or browsed you can tick the box for "Show content I have access to" to see only the full text (subscribed) eBooks.
Also known as ICE Virtual Library, this is a small collection of eBooks in subject areas relevant to practising civil engineers and construction professionals.
This small collection includes works on hydrology, geotechnical & rock engineering, geology & earthworks, bridge engineering, structural mechanics, building structures, and communication for professional engineers.
Unfortunately you can't limit a search to subscribed content, so you might get many results that are not available in full-text.
Similarly, you can't restrict your search to eBook content (the collection includes eJournals as well, but Charles Sturt Library does not have a subscription to these).
You can access an Advanced Search screen by clicking on the Search button when there are no search terms entered in the search box (or use this Advanced Search link). The Advanced Search screen seems to display better in Firefox than in IE.
Subscribed content is designated by an orange S icon; free content is designated by a green F icon.
Offers access to eBooks in two main subject areas: business, management, and economics; and social sciences.
Charles Sturt Library subscribes to both journals and eBooks in Emerald Insight. The link here takes you to our subscribed eBooks (the green-square icon indicated access). These are presented in the form of 143 book series, each series then consisting of a number of volumes.
If you search, you have the option to search just journals, or just book series, or both, and you have the option to search all content or only content you have access to.
Specific topics covered by the eBooks series include accounting & finance, education, health & social care, library & information science, marketing, sociology, transport, and tourism & hospitality.
You can also try the Library's main, multi-subject collection of eBooks:
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. It is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video.
For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.
Reading and downloading eBooks
Arrangements for viewing and downloading eBooks vary according to the collection they are in.
Generally, you can read an eBook online using the "read online" interface in the collection, or download the eBook to your computer or mobile device. Downloading to your computer requires the free software Adobe Digital Editions, while downloading to a device requires a free app - Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).
There are sometimes limits on the number of concurrent users for an eBook, and often limits on how much you can print and copy.
For more assistance with finding and using eBooks, see the Library Resource Guide on eBooks.