Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DOH321 Research Skills Guide: Acquire the evidence

Databases Containing Evidence Based Resources

There are two broad types of evidence you will encounter when searching for EBP research or information, these are: secondary (filtered, pre-appraised), including systematic reviews and evidence summaries, and primary (unfiltered) including controlled trials and case studies. Secondary evidence is considered the higher level of evidence in the EBP context. For more information on the levels of evidence you will encounter when searching for evidence based practice research please see the Levels of Evidence page in our Evidence-Based Practice Guide.

Evidence Based Databases, such as those mentioned below, enable you to locate secondary pre-appraised research.

The Cochrane Collaboration describes itself as:

"an international network of people helping healthcare providers, policy makers, patients, their advocates and carers, make well-informed decisions about human health care by preparing, updating and promoting the accessibility of Cochrane Reviews".

The Cochrane Library is available from the Cochrane Collaboration website but also through CSU library.

The Ovid databases include no fewer than 9 EBM (Evidence Based Medicine) Reviews databases. In general, these match the databases provided in the Cochrane Library, except for one. The odd one out is EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club, which is a non-Cochrane Library database.

Cochrane and OVID EBM Reviews can both be accessed from the Dentistry & Oral Health Journal Databases page.

Further Reading

 

The Cochrane Library database investigated in this guide is just one of the evidence based databases you have access to through the CSU Library. For information on other databases you might find helpful please see the Evidence-Based Practice Guide