Skip to main content

COVID-19 Expanded resource access

Due to COVID-19 many publishers are now offering expanded access. This is a list of some of their free/extended offerings.

Access Medicine

COVID Central will be a source of weekly updated developments and analysis in clinical medicine, public health, and industry and will be aimed at healthcare professionals, trainees and students, and librarians.  It will be open to all viewers regardless of Access subscription status.

ACS Publications

Enclosed is the virtual issues of all articles related to Covid-19 from ACS Publications:

https://pubs.acs.org/coronavirus 

And the C&EN compilation details about the impact of Covid-19:

https://cen.acs.org/sections/Tracking-the-novel-coronavirus.html

American Society for Microbiology

ASM is providing free access to nearly 50 research articles published over the last year in ASM’s 16 scholarly journals to support research efforts and communications about the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). ASM has also committed to making all of its COVID19 and coronavirus related publications, and the available data supporting them, immediately accessible in PubMed Central (PMC) and other public repositories.

https://asm.org/Press-Releases/2020/COVID-19-Resources

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews has set up a resource center for articles that are freely available: https://www.annualreviews.org/research-support.

In order to help the many students, faculty and researchers that are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic, access controls to existing content have been temporarily removed until the end of April.

CEIC Data: Novel Coronavirus Outbreak Map

Explore CEIC Data’s interactive global map covering the number of confirmed cases, deaths, recovered patients and concentration of the CoVID-19 virus. Free and updated daily.

Biochemical Society/Portland Press

The Biochemical Society/Portland Press has, along with several organisations/publishers, signed a joint statement on sharing research data relating to the coronavirus outbreak freely available.

The full news item regarding this, and a list of papers included (with hyperlinks) can be found here: https://biochemistry.org/2020/01/31/biochemical-society-and-portland-press-sign-joint-statement-on-sharing-research-data-relating-to-the-novel-coronavirus-ncov-outbreak/.

Papers published prior to signing the joint statement have been made freely available (paywall has been dropped) and, going forward, all papers accepted for publication will be made open access.”

BioOne

BioOne is proud to share the wealth of relevant content from our publishing partners to provide support for those working on crisis solutions. Visit our COVID-19 resource page.

In collaboration with the Association of Research Libraries and the Greater Western Library Alliance, BioOne and our publishers have made articles related to coronavirus in the following journals available via open access through 2020:

You will find additional relevant articles related to the coronavirus and pandemics on BioOne Complete.

The Association of Research Libraries has compiled COVID-19 news and resource pages from their member libraries and parent institutions; these are updated daily.

Bloomsbury Fashion Central

Because we currently subscribe to, or have purchased, components of these resources, Bloomsbury are opening up access to all content within each product. The extra content will be accessible until May 31st 2020

BMJ

This page collects all BMJ coverage of the coronavirus outbreak from across the BMJ's journals and learning resources. All articles and resources are freely available.

CABI

Free access to CABI’s Coronavirus collection for 3 months using voucher code. To access ALL content this page & in Collection:  go to ‘login’ or 'account' at top right. Follow instructions to 'redeem a voucher' & use CV4Y85D5JG9.

https://www.cabdirect.org/globalhealth

Cambridge Core

Cambridge Core are providing read only access (printing and downloading not permitted) to 701 additional titles. This access has been extended until June 30th. 

Cambridge University Press

Please see below the free COVID-19 collection from Cambridge University Press. Some of this content is open access anyway, the rest has been made freely available:

https://www.cambridge.org/core/browse-subjects/medicine/coronavirus-free-access-collection

Clarivate

Global resource site to help medical researchers and healthcare professionals access the world’s leading research and late-breaking news around the coronaviruses.

EBSCO

EBSCO eBook have upgraded their ebooks to unlimited user access on the EBSCO platform. This will be in effect until June 30th.

Elsevier / ScienceDirect

Since January 2020 Elsevier has created a COVID-19 resource center with free information in English and Mandarin on the novel coronavirus COVID-19. 

Until the 15th of June 2020, Elsevier have made all textbooks freely available on ScienceDirect to support students and lecturers during the COVID-19 pandemic.  Click here to access the list of titles that are now free to access to aid distance learning and online education.

Gale

Gale is providing FREE, REMOTE ACCESS to the Gale Health and Wellness database for all libraries in Australia & New Zealand until 30th June 2020. Formerly known as Health & Wellness Resource Center, this database has been known and trusted in ANZ libraries for decades.

LINK: https://infotrac.gale.com/itweb/61tr1?db=HWRC&id=hwrc

PASSWORD: hwrc

GeoScience World

JAMA Network

Browse the JAMA Network COVID-19 collection below, including Q&A's with NIAID's Anthony Fauci, an interactive map of the outbreak courtesy of The Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering, and past publications on vaccine development, infection control, and public health preparedness. JAMA offers a range of videos, features and related clinical information articles.

Featured

Clinical Information

Multimedia

Outbreak Map

WHO Guidance

CDC Guidance

JSTOR

JSTOR and their participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to participating institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19.

A special collection of over 35,000 ebooks are freely available through to June 30 and can be accessed via the database link below.

a new set of 26 journal archives in Public Health are also openly accessible through June 30, 2020.

Karger

Karger have created a Topic Article Package for COVID: https://www.karger.com/Tap/Home/278492

All articles are freely available. Any new articles will be added to the package.

The Lancet

The Lancet has created a Coronavirus Resource Centre. This resource brings together new 2019 novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) content from across The Lancet journals as it is published. All content listed on this page is free to access.

LexisNexis

LexisNexis Offers Free, Comprehensive COVID-19 News Coverage and Practical Guidance Content from Law360 and Lexis Practice Advisor. Law360 covers COVID-19’s impact on the government, business and the legal profession; https://www.law360.com/coronavirus

Lexis Practice Advisor toolkit provides guidance and insights across multiple practice areas to support decision-making and counsel on COVID-19 matters

https://www.lexisnexis.com/en-us/about-us/media/press-release.page?id=1584340441681141

Mary Ann Liebert

Mary Ann Liebert have selected a number of relevant articles from their Health Security, Telemedicine and e-Health and Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology News titles...

https://home.liebertpub.com/lpages/-coronavirus-science-backed-research/250/

All of these papers are, and will remain, free-to-access for the duration of this crisis. Further, they have been asked by the CDC to fast-track two papers, which are currently in process, and will be made Open Access immediately upon publication.

 

We have selected 10 relevant articles from Health Security  on coronaviruses, outbreak preparedness and response, infection control, and public health policy; these articles will be freely available through March 31, 2020 to facilitate the conversation around health security. We hope these pieces will serve as resources for the community as it works to ensure that the 2019-nCoV outbreak is fully understood and contained.

https://home.liebertpub.com/spcoll/coronaviruses-outbreak-preparedness-and-response-infection-c/1106/

 

Telemedicine and e-Health publishes vital academic research that addresses, answers, and highlights how we can prevent a global outbreak such as the COVID-19 coronavirus using telemedicine techniques. A number of relevant papers are freely available.

https://home.liebertpub.com/spcoll/coronavirus-highlights-urgent-need-for-telehealth-alternativ/1111/

 

A new survey by Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology News (GEN) reveals 35 active drug development programs in North America, Europe, and China. This list is certain to multiply in coming weeks as global health agencies, governments, and drug developers step up efforts against the SARS-CoV-2 virus.

https://www.genengnews.com/a-lists/how-to-conquer-coronavirus-top-35-treatments-in-development/

New England Journal of Medicine

NEJM is providing a collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary. Editorials, perspectives and  original articles can be accessed free of charge. NEJM also provides links to useful sites and Journal Watch summaries.

NLM

LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 1200 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.

Ovid

Ovid has created a dedicated site, featuring expert searches, a widget and a link to access GIDEON & Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Network, plus specific resources for nurses. Additional content will be added as it becomes available.

Oxford University Press

Oxford University Press has made content from online book resources and leading journals freely accessible to assist researchers, medical professionals, policy makers, and others who are working to address this health crisis.

ProjectMuse

Content that is freely available on the Project MUSE platform during the COVID-19 crisis will display a distinctive “Free” icon, different from the “OA” icon used for fully open access content on MUSE, or the familiar green checkmark that users associate with content held by their library. MUSE search results (muse.jhu.edu/search), by default, include any content to which a user has access, so will offer the researcher any relevant free, OA, or entitled articles and books.

ProQuest

ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from over 50 publishers until June 19th.

This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period, helping librarians bridge the gap for their patrons in this rapidly changing environment.

**Please note that not all publishers are participating in this offer - please contact acq@csu.edu.au if you have any questions regarding specific resources.

Additionally, ProQuest have prepared a list of authoritative resources about the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic - please click here to access.   

The Royal Society

This special collection comprises some papers likely to be relevant to the outbreak.

RSNA

Due to the current shortage of nucleic acid testing kits used to confirm the presence of the 2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19), CT scans have become the first line of defense in diagnosing a suspected infection. RSNA is currently processing peer-reviewed articles and cases of COVID-19 to provide the global radiology community with a free diagnostic resource to help prevent the spread of this outbreak and get more patients the care they need.

Please see the fowling link dedicated to COVID-19: https://pubs.rsna.org/2019-ncov

Articles: https://pubs.rsna.org/2019-ncov_articles

Podcasts: https://pubs.rsna.org/do/10.1148/radiol.20200302.podcast/full/

Cases: https://cases.rsna.org/coronavirus

News: https://www.rsna.org/news/2020/January/Coronavirus-Update

Royal Society of Chemistry

Please find below a link to the freely available content from the Royal Society of Chemistry relating to COVID-19;

https://pubs.rsc.org/en/Journals/ArticleCollectionLanding?themeId=1eac56a1-4121-43c5-b3ec-3d6f9d9226fb&journalName

Sage

Please click on the microsite to see the articles https://journals.sagepub.com/coronavirus   

There is also a list of freely available Corona Virus related articles.

Semantic Scholar

A Free, Open Resource for the Global Research Community

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Allen Institute for AI has partnered with leading research groups to prepare and distribute the COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19), a free resource of over 29,000 scholarly articles, including over 13,000 with full text, about COVID-19 and the coronavirus family of viruses for use by the global research community.

This dataset is intended to mobilize researchers to apply recent advances in natural language processing to generate new insights in support of the fight against this infectious disease. The corpus will be updated weekly as new research is published in peer-reviewed publications and archival services like bioRxiv, medRxiv, and others.

Springer Nature

Springer Nature knows how essential access to research is in slowing the spread of COVID-19. We have made available for free all relevant research we have published and continue to publish.

SSRN

SSRN’s Coronavirus and Infectious Disease Research page provides a curated view into the early-stage research to help researchers, public health authorities, clinicians and the public understand, contain and manage this disease.

Taylor & Francis

Peer-reviewed research published in Taylor & Francis journals is now free to access and available for anyone to read. In addition, TandF will support researchers, journals & funders to ensure that all research findings & data relevant to this outbreak are shared rapidly & openly. TandF has provided a list of some of the most recent, relevant studies.

Wiley

Free access to COVID-19 research resources: Wiley has made more than 5,000 COVID-19 related articles freely available in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, and prevention. As always, you can access our Wiley Online Library Training hub should you need any tips on the platform.

World Scientific

Institutional access has been upgraded to include ALL World Scientific journal content published from 2001. This takes effect from now, until June 30, 2020.