Library Guides: Criminal Justice: Recommended resources

Dictionaries and encyclopaedias

Criminology Theory, Research, and Policy by Maahs, J. R., & Vito, G.
Publication Date: 2020
The Handbook of the History and Philosophy of Criminology by Triplett, R. A. (Ed.)
Publication Date: 2018
The Palgrave Handbook of Australian and New Zealand Criminology, Crime and Justice by Deckert, A., & Sarre, R. (Eds.)
Publication Date: 2017
The Dictionary of Law Enforcement - 2nd ed. by Gooch, G. & Williams, M.
Publication Date: 2015

Quick links

Other useful guides

ebook collections

ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
A huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. This collection is the Library’s largest collection of eBooks, and covers many of the subjects taught at Charles Sturt.
There are sometimes restrictions on the use of these eBooks. With high-demand items where there is a limit on concurrent users, we recommend that you find and download what you need and then close off the book/browser window to free up the licence for someone else. For a demonstration of how to do this, please see the Library’s short eBooks etiquette video. There are usually limitations on how much you can download and copy, but these should reset after 24 hours.

Some books are available for full download. If you wish to download a ProQuest eBook Central eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).

For help with using this collection, see the ProQuest Ebook Central page in the Library’s eBooks guide. It includes a link to ProQuest’s own guide on the collection, and has embedded videos from ProQuest on the online reader and on downloads.

See more tips on finding and using eBooks.

Library databases

Australian Criminology Database (CINCH) This link opens in a new window
Australian database of citations and article summaries, with some full-text. Produced by the JV Barry Library, Australian Institute of Criminology. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with CINCH selected. See more ... below.
CINCH indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime and criminal justice in Australia.

Specific topics covered include corrections; crime; crime prevention; criminal law; criminology; juvenile justice; law enforcement; police; and victims of crime.

Source documents include journal articles, books and book chapters; conference papers, government documents, book reviews, and theses. Statistical publications in serial form such as annual statistical reviews are also included.

Your searching from this link will be within CINCH only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in CINCH. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.

You can use Basic Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.

Coverage is from 1968 present.
ProQuest Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Criminal Justice Database is one of many databases available in the ProQuest interface. It covers research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
This database was previously known as ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index (CJPI).

This database indexes more than 250 periodicals, with more than 100 available in full-text. Sources include U.S. and international scholarly journals, corrections and correctional and law enforcement trade publications, and crime blogs, while content includes journal articles, reports, news, and statistics.

Subject coverage includes: addictions; alcoholism; child abuse; corrections & law enforcement; criminal law; criminal justice; criminal rehabilitation; criminology;
gambling; industrial crime; psychology; sociology; and terrorism.

Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination.
AGIS Plus Text This link opens in a new window
Australian Informit database of citations and article summaries, with some full-text, covering all aspects of law. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with AGIS Plus Text selected. See more ... below
The full title of AGIS Plus Text is Attorney General's Information Service Plus Text. It includes over 140 peer-reviewed law journals from Australia, New Zealand, and the Asia Pacific region, plus selected articles from major law journals from the UK, the US, and Canada.

Specific topics covered include administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, criminal law, environmental law, family law, human rights, international law, legal aid, and trade practices.

Your searching from this link will be within AGIS Plus Text only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in AGIS Plus Text. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.

You can use Basic Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.

See all Law & Justice Studies databases and Emergency Management, Policing & Public Safety databases.

Need some help with understanding how to use Library databases? See our Database Help Guide.

Legal resources

Cases or Case Law

Case law is an important primary source in legal research. It refers to the decisions made by the courts which can both establish and refine legislative law. Case law is also referred to as “common law”. You can access case databases from the Case Law tab on the Law Library Guide.

Legislation

Legislation is laws made by Parliament in the different jurisdictions of Australia and comprises:

Acts (also called statutes)
Subordinate or delegated legislation (including regulations, rules, by-laws, ordinances, orders and legislative instruments).

Accessing Legislation

You can access legislation from around Australia on the Legislation tab of the Law Library Guide.

Finding Relevant Cases and Legislation on a Topic

Use secondary sources (encyclopedias, textbooks, commentary or journal articles) to direct you to the relevant case law and legislation in a particular area of law.

Need some help with understanding how to find and use Legal Resources? See the Legal Research Skills for Non-Law Students Guide.

Websites

Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission
The Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission is Australia’s national criminal intelligence agency with investigative, research and information delivery functions. Our agency works closely with a broad range of national and international partners to strengthen the ability to respond to crime affecting Australia.
Australian Institute of Criminology
AIC is Australia’s national research and knowledge centre on crime and justice, compiling trend data and disseminating research and policy advice.
Analysis & Policy Observatory - Justice
APO is a unique collection of grey literature on any public policy issue – covering Australia, New Zealand and beyond. Our resources are sourced from a wide range of organisations involved in policy such as government, agencies, regulators, research institutes, non-for-profits and think tanks.
Commonwealth Sentencing Database
Provides judicial officers and other users with rapid and easy access to information about sentencing for Commonwealth offences.
Griffith Criminology Insitute Insights
GCI Insights showcases the research being conducted by members of the Griffith Criminology Institute (GCI). It includes Briefs, Spotlights, Podcasts, Reports and Videos.
Sentencing Explained - A podcast series by the NSW Sentencing Council.
Sentencing Explained is a podcast about NSW sentencing trends and practices. Episodes are released on Mondays. Study guides are available with every episode to help students strengthen their understanding of the content.
Sydney Institute of Criminology, University of Sydney
Located in the Sydney Law School this research centre specialises in criminology, criminal justice and criminal law and produces Current Issues in Criminal Justice.

Statistics

Australian Bureau of Statistics - Crime and Justice
Australia’s national statistical agency and an official source of independent, reliable information.
AIHW - Australian Institute of Health and Welfare - Reports & Data
Australia's leading health and welfare statistics agency.
BOCSAR - NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research
The statistical and research agency within the NSW Department of Communities and Justice. They maintain a statistical database on crime and criminal justice in NSW and conduct research on and monitor trends in crime and criminal justice.

Professional organisations

Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology
ANZSOC is dedicated to promoting criminological study, research and practice in the region and bringing together people involved in all aspects of the field.
Law and Society Association of Australia and New Zealand
The object of the association is to promote and foster scholarship broadly focusing on the interactions and intersections between law and society.