Skip to main content

Bachelor of Applied Research (Honours) Guide: Company and Industry Information

This guide supports the Bachelor of Applied Research (Honours) course

Where can I find company information?

Library databases:

  1. Can help you locate company information and full text news articles
  2. Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  3. Have many options for refining results

The in the table below you'll see a list of our best databases for locating company and industry information, along with search tips to help you find the information you need.

But these aren't the only databases that will be useful for your studies! Take a look the full range of our Business databases.

Searching for company and industry information

Searching for company information:

When looking for information about a company, consider both information from the company itself (e.g., the company website, ASX data) as well as information about the company written by others (e.g., newspaper articles, and analyst reports).

Finding information about a company includes the following steps:

  1. Get an overview of the company, find out if it is public or private.
  2. Search the company in our library databases listed in this guide.
  3. Look at the company's website. Review the information available, particularly information directed to investors and the media.
  4. Search for newspaper, journal and trade publication articles about the company. You can find these in on the Library databases page of this guide.

Generally the larger the company the easier it is to get information on it. There is a lot more information and analysis available for public companies than for private companies or subsidiaries


Searching for industry information:

Finding information about an industry includes the following steps:

  1. Search the industry in our databases recommended in this guide. In these will be able to find detailed industry analysis and case studies
  2. Search for newspaper, journal and trade publication articles about the industry. You can find these in our journal and media databases listed on the Library database page of this guide
  3. Look at some of the suggested web resources such as, ABS statistics & reports, government industry websites, consultancy firms etc.

It is important to realise that the more specialised an industry the harder it will be to get information on it. 


Information in this guide has been adopted and adapted from The University of Melbourne LibGuide: from https://unimelb.libguides.com/company_industry, RMIT University LibGuide: https://rmit.libguides.com/industryinfo and Macquarie University LibGuide: https://libguides.mq.edu.au/companyindustrycountry

Searching for company and industry information in Library databases

The databases featured below provide access to company, market and industry information.

Database

About

Search tips

D&B Hoovers

Previously known as D&B Global Business Browser and before that as OneSource: Global Business Browser, this database provides a range of public and private company and industry information, worldwide and from the Asia Pacific and Australia/New Zealand regions.

When you first log in you might see a Preferences Setup screen. You can change certain preferences here if you like, and then click on Continue

The search box at the top of the screen defaults to showing Search for a Company

The results list shows basic information, but more information is displayed when Quick View is selected 

IBISWorld

IBISWorld is a private company which specialises in company and industry research. The collection here consists of Australian company and industry reports and analyses.

On the main page of the database, enter your company name, industry, or relevant keywords into the search box.

You can also use the options across the top navigation to jump directly to Company Research or a range of Industry Research reports.

Factiva

A global news and business information service, with most material available in full-text. It covers science, health, education, the humanities, and other subjects but has a focus on business, including business news, and company and industry research.

NOTE: CSU Library has only 3 concurrent-user licenses to Factiva. If you can't get access, try again later.

Company Snapshot - from the Companies/Markets tab select Company. Search by company name, DUNS, Registration ID or Ticker. 
 

Industry Snapshots - from the Companies/Markets tab select Industry and choose the type of industry you are interested in from the list.

ABI/INFORM Collection

ProQuest database that includes thousands of scholarly and trade journals, plus other related content, with most in full-text, covering business, management, and finance.

For Company Profiles - enter the company name into the Advanced search box and limit to Company Profile from Document Type box.

For Industry Reports - enter industry into the Advance search box and limit to Industry Report, Market Report and Market Research from Document Type box.

Business Source Complete

An EBSCOhost database which includes the full-text of more than 1600 full-text journals and of more than 1500 trade journals and general business magazines, plus other non-journal content.

For Company Profiles - click on More from the drop down menu in the top toolbar above the search box and select Company Profiles or select Company Information link in the top toolbar.

For Industry Reports - enter the name of an industry into the search box and limit to Industry Profile and/or Market Research Report from the Publication Type box.

Business Market Research Collection

ProQuest database with company and industry market research from 3 sources: Hoover’s Company Profiles; OxResearch; and Snapshots Series.

Company Profile - Enter the company name into the Advanced search box and limit to Company Profile from Document Type box.

Industry Report - Enter industry into the Advanced search box and limit to Industry Report, Market Report and Market Research from Document Type box.

Warc Covering marketing and advertising, Warc is an online marketing information service, with a range of full-text resources including forecasts, case studies, best practice guides, industry trends, news, conference proceedings, and journal articles.

Case studies - use the Case Finder tool to search by keyword and limit by a range of filters including media & channels, target audience, budget and more.

Research articles and company profiles can be found by browsing and searching using the Topics tab.

Connect 4 - Annual Reports This Australian product from Thomson Reuters provides the full-text of the annual reports of all companies listed on the Australian Stock Exchange, back to 1992. You can search by various criteria such as Text Search, ASX Code and Company Name. A range of company documentation is available. Results show selected, predecessor, and successor companies.

 

Free Resources

AnnualReports.com Links to company websites listed on the following exchanges: AIM, AMES, ASX, LSE, NASDAQ, NYSE, OTC, TSX, TSX-V
 
ASCIC Connect free online company information which includes basic details such as registration date, status and current address.
 
Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences (ABARES) - provides publications and data on agricultural commodities, fishing and forests
 

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) provides access to key statistics about a range of Australian industry.

Australian Trade Commission Austrade  - The Australian government trade commission for Australian exporters and information for companies wanting to do business with Australia.

Australian Industry Group (Ai Group) - Australian industry association provides access to some free online resources such as economic outlook reports.

Australian Stock Exchange ASX - Find market data and information about companies listed on the ASX.

Bloomberg News - Free industry news and information from around the world.