It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An EBSCOhost database of journal and other citations, with much available in full-text, covering all aspects of sports, sports science, physical education, sports medicine, and sports administration.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text has references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and theses and dissertations. There are more than 750,000 records dating back to 1800.
The database also includes the full-text of more than 350 journals dating back to 1985.
This major international health, medicine, and veterinary medicine database is available from Ovid in various packages. The version here includes material from 1946 to current.
MEDLINE is recognised as the premier index of biomedical literature. It includes health and medicine, allied health fields, and veterinary science, plus the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to health care. It is produced by the United States National Library of Medicine and covers thousands of international journals from 1946 - .
It is primarily a database of citations, but the Ovid version includes links to some full text journal titles from the database CSU Full Text Journals@Ovid, listed in the CSU databases lists as Journals@Ovid CSU Full Text Subscribed.
A group of 5 online programs covering anatomy and physiology through interactive 3D models, animations, images, and quizzes.
Visible Body is a group of programs that cover anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, images, and quizzes. These are also available as apps for mobile.
CSU subscribes to 5 of the 7 Visible Body modules:
Human Anatomy Atlas - a 3D visualisation-and-learning tool for exploring the systems of the human body. It includes more than 4,000 medically-accurate anatomical structures covering systemic and regional anatomy.
Physiology Animations - a comprehensive collection of nearly 70 videos that illustrate the core physiological processes of the human body.
Muscle Premium; Skeletal Premium; Heart & Circulatory Premium - these specialty modules use 3D models, interactive presentations, movies, and images to give users a more in-depth look at these systems.
CSU Library does not subscribe to the Anatomy & Physiology, or Anatomy & Function modules. These will be greyed out on the Visible Body landing page.
To get started, you need to click on one of the modules, then:
if you are using a computer, there will be a Launch button. Depending on which browser you are using, you might see two buttons: Launch Web Player; and Launch WebGL. The Web Player version requires the free software Unity Web Player (required for viewing 3D content), but note that this software is no longer supported; OR
An interactive multimedia resource with 3D images and interactive models. The images illustrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. Includes the Clinical Specialty modules Dentistry, Real-Time Dentistry, and Dental Hygiene.
Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures) combines all the Primal Pictures material that Charles Sturt users previously accessed in different packages, including what was previously available as Primal Pictures Anatomy & Physiology Online, and including Primal Pictures Dentistry (see Clinical Specialties, below).
This is an interactive resource that provides a multimedia overview of human anatomy. It features three-dimensional animations that illustrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. These animations and models include coverage of more than 6500 structures. They show different layers of anatomical regions, rotate those regions 360 degrees, and provide textual information about each structure. The models are supplemented by clinical videos, pathology slides, and MRI scans. The resource includes quizzes and a study guide.
The content is presented in a series of modules and sub-modules:
* 3D Atlas: head and neck; spine; shoulder and arm; forearm and hand; thorax and abdomen; pelvis; hip; knee; leg, ankle and foot.
* 3D Real-Time: head and neck; spine; shoulder and arm; forearm, wrist and hand; thorax; abdomen; female pelvis; male pelvis; hip and thigh; knee; leg, ankle and foot; whole body.
* Functional anatomy: functional anatomy; sports injuries of the shoulder; sports injuries of the knee; sports injuries of the foot; exercise; Pilates; yoga; resistance training.
* Anatomy & Physiology: body plan and organisation; skeletal, muscular, cardiovascular, urinary, nervous, lymphatic, respiratory, reproductive, integumentary, endocrine, and digestive systems; blood; metabolism; chemistry; cell biology; fluid, electrolyte & acid-base balance; histology; special senses; development and inheritance.
* Imaging: ultrasound - lower limb; ultrasound - upper limb; CT and MRI - thorax, abdomen and pelvis.
* Clinical specialities: audiology; otolaryngology; dentistry; dental hygiene; real-time dentistry; speech-language pathology; head and neck - paediatric comparisons; head and neck - basic neuroanatomy; pelvic floor disorders; chiropractic; urology.
* Therapy: acupuncture; anatomy trains; hand therapy; massage and manual therapies.
* Quizzes and activities.
Depending on the specific module, you can:
- Demonstrate muscle function in 3D with interactive animations that show the interaction of muscles, ligaments, and bones;
- Peel away layers, rotate anatomical models 360 degrees, and reconstruct layers back to their original structure;
- Compare 3D images to MRI slices to aid in diagnosis and management of injuries with correlating scans;
- Review clinical videos to gain a better understanding of procedures and treatments;
- Export images, text, movies, and animations to use in presentations and handouts;
- Link between images, animations, movie clips, slides, and accompanying textual descriptions.
According to Anatomy.TV, "All our movies/animations can be played with either Windows Media player or Quicktime player" and "To view this site correctly the recommended screen settings are 1152 x 864 and minimum screen settings are 1024 x 768".
An online collection of searchable videos that covers fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, and exercise adherence.
This collection features physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dieticians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts.
Titles in the collection have been approved for educational use by several professional organisations including the American College of Sports Medicine, the National Athletic Trainers Association, the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine, the American Council on Exercise, the National Strength and Conditioning Association, and the Medical Fitness Association.
The collection can be searched and browsed, and has a number of features that assist in its use as an educational resource. Features include:
* video browse and search capabilities;
* multiple points of access: browses, searches, thumbnail images, transcripts;
* synchronised, searchable transcripts;
* video clip-making tools;
* annotated playlists: users can make, annotate, and share playlists and clips, and can include links to materials or resources outside the collection;
* sharing of video by embeddable links.