It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A significant international database covering nursing and allied health, available in the EBSCOhost platform with much available in full-text.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the well known index to literature in the fields of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is available as an EBSCOhost database and is actually a combination of 3 databases: CINAHL Plus with Full Text, CINAHL Select, and PreCINAHL. It provides the CINAHL index to journals in the areas of nursing and allied health, but also provides the full-text of more than 560 of these journals. Other resources that are indexed include: legal cases, drug records, clinical trials, professional publications, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
While the traditional CINAHL includes material dating from 1982, CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes material going back to 1937.
The database is updated weekly.
This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. It is also available to CSU users as part of the EBSCOhost (Health) package. Once you are on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
An Ovid database which covers nursing and allied health and includes primarily evidence-based clinical content.
Emcare indexes more than 3,700 international journals, including more than 1,800 journals not available on other databases. It includes nearly 5 million records dating back to 1995. 70% of records contain online abstracts.
Subjects covered include:
* Critical & Intensive Care
* Emergency Services
* Geriatrics & Palliative Care
* Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine
* Behavioral Science & Psychology
* Complementary Medicine
* Medical & Laboratory Technology
* Nutrition & Dietetics
* Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation
* Public & Occupational Health.
This major international health, medicine, and veterinary medicine database is available from Ovid in various packages. The version here includes material from 1946 to current.
MEDLINE is recognised as the premier index of biomedical literature. It includes health and medicine, allied health fields, and veterinary science, plus the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to health care. It is produced by the United States National Library of Medicine and covers thousands of international journals from 1946 - .
It is primarily a database of citations, but the Ovid version includes links to some full text journal titles from the database CSU Full Text Journals@Ovid, listed in the CSU databases lists as Journals@Ovid CSU Full Text Subscribed.
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical medical resource which includes medical and patient information, drug information, and a number of medical calculators. It is continuously updated and is designed as a point-of-care clinical resource.
The main content consists of 11,000 topics across 25 medical specialities, which are written, edited, and reviewed by authors, experts, and peer-reviewers from around the world. Each topic includes a prominent Summary section or Summary and Recommendations section.
Other features include:
• 1500 patient education topics
• 33,000 graphics
• access to Lexi-comp drug monographs
• more than 175 medical calculators
• What’s New and Practice-Changing Updates
• UptoDate Pathways.
UptoDate has an uncluttered user-friendly interface. You can search across the whole resource, or, from the top tab-bar, you can access the Contents, Calculators, Drug interactions, and UptoDate Pathways. You can navigate between topics using hyperlinks in the text.
For information about UpToDate's peer review process, see the page on Editorial Policy.
The main product of the Joanna Briggs Institute, offering resources in evidence-based healthcare, available here on the Ovid platform, where it is titled The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database.
JBI COnNECT+ is an online gateway to evidence-based resources and tools for clinical decision-making process and best practice in nursing and allied health.
It comprises a series of sites on selected areas of health, referred to as nodes:
* aged care
* burns care
* cancer care
* cardiovascular care
* chronic disease
* community health
* diagnostic imaging
* emergency and trauma
* general medicine
* health management and assessment
* infection control
* mental health
* midwifery care
* renal care
* surgical services
* tropical and infectious disease
* wound healing and management.
The types of publication in JBI COnNECT+ include:
* best practice information sheets;
* consumer information sheets;
* evidence summaries;
* evidence based recommended practices;
* systematic review protocols;
* systematic reviews;
* technical reports.
As well as the databases of Evidence-Based Practice material, this resource also gives access to a number of EBP tools. To get access to these tools please follow the instructions in Ovid's Accessing JBI tools for the first time. Access depends on having, or creating, a personal account in Ovid. (Note that Ovid has a help page on Create a personal account.)
For help with access to the JBI resources via Ovid, and for access to various help and information resources, please see Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Resources on Ovid, which is customised for CSU users. (Note: you can search from this page but the results will be presented in the Ovid interface.)
Topics covered include: the midwifery profession; pregnancy; labour; birth; postnatal care; neonatal care for the first year of an infant's life; infant feeding; and the transition to parenthood.
Coverage is from the mid-1980s onward, and approximately 1000 records are added per month.
Maternity and Infant Care is one of many databases available in the Ovid platform. Once in Ovid, you can you can change to another database by clicking on the Change link in the main search panel. Other health-related databases in Ovid include MEDLINE in various date packages, and a range of EBM Reviews databases. You can search all Ovid databases individually or in any combination.
Free, Australian online database of evidence-based-practice material relevant to physiotherapy.
PEDro the Physiotherapy Evidence Database contains citations and abstracts of more than 21,000 randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews, and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physiotherapy. Where possible, links to full-text versions of the documents are also provided.
The randomised controlled trials in PEDro are rated for quality to help you make judgements about their validity.
PEDro is maintained by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy and is based at the School of Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney.
PEDro is similar to 3 other Evidence-Based Practice databases, all developed in Australia: OTseeker; speechBITE, and PsycBITE.
A free Australian database of Evidence-Based Practice material for Occupational Therapy.
OTseeker is a free, Australian web-based database that contains citations and abstracts, and sometimes the full-text, of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to Occupational Therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to help you evaluate their validity.
The trials in OTseeker have been sourced by conducting systematic searches of the following databases: MEDLINE, CINAHL, ERIC, EMBASE Rehabilitation and Physical Medicine, AMED, PsycINFO, the Cochrane Library, CancerLit, and Ageline. Other methods of sourcing trials include auto-alert strategies in MEDLINE, CINAHL, EMBASE, AMED and PsycINFO, and hand-searching of selected journals.
OTseeker is similar to three other databases, all developed in Australia: PEDro, speechBITE; and PsycBITE.
Note that the OTseeker start page has this advice: "Due to a lack of funding for OTseeker, content on OTseeker from 2016 and beyond is not as comprehensive as previously. Therefore, we recommend that users of OTseeker also search for more recent evidence using other freely available search engines and databases such as PEDro, and PubMed."
A free Australian database of Evidence-Based Practice material for Speech Therapy.
speechBITE is a free Australian online database of Intervention studies across the scope of Speech Pathology practice. It is an Evidence-Based Practice initiative of the University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
This resource gives access to citations and (sometimes) abstracts which are of interest to Speech Pathologists. Studies on this database include Systematic Reviews (SRs), Randomised Controlled Trials (RCTs), Non-Randomised Controlled Trials (non-RCTs), Case Series (CS), and Single Case Experimental Designs (SCEDs). The full-text of these items is not necessarily included, though there might be links to full-text.
With some items, methodological ratings are included to allow users to discern the scientific quality of each research study.
speechBITE is modelled on the highly successful PsycBITE, a free database of psychologically based therapies for acquired brain injury rehabilitation. Both these databases, together with PEDro, an evidence-based practice database for physiotherapists, and OTSeeker (Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence) can be searched simultaneously at the Allied Health Evidence site.