Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MHP115 Research Skills Guide: Use Journal Databases

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

  • Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results

You can find the Library's databases on the Journal Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. The Allied Health and Indigenous Studies lists will be particularly useful for your study. As this subject crosses different disciplines, you will probably need to search in more than one database.

There is also a very helpful Database help guide available

Indigenous Collection

Indigenous Collection is An Informit database of entirely full-text material from journals, books, conference proceedings, and reports, covering all aspects of Indigenous Studies. 

The link here will take you to a search of the Informit platform with a filter for Indigenous Collection already applied.

Searching in a database

Activity

In the  Indigenous Collection database  search page try typing in  –  Indigenous AND alcohol

  • Did you get less results than Primo Search and Google Scholar? Being an Indigenous studies database, they should be more relevant to your topic.
  • Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
  • If you cannot find the full text click on the Find it button to check if the article is available elsewhere.