Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HLT330 Research Skills Guide: Introduction to Journal Databases

What is a database?

For most essays and assignments you are expected to locate relevant scholarly journal articles.

You can search for journal articles in Primo Search, but you can also search for journal articles on a topic in a journal database, or package of databases.

You can access online journal databases in a number of ways. The main way is via the Library’s A-Z Databases page, where you can browse by database title, or by subject category:

For HLT330, the subject category you choose will depend on your topic. You should find the Medical Sciences and Dentistry and Allied Health lists useful.

If you know the name of the database, or database platform (see below) you wish to search then you can use the Browse by Title alphabetical list.

Databases and Database Platforms

A DATABASE is an organised collection of information records that can be accessed electronically. In the Library this includes databases which have:

  • journal article (and other) citations, where there is no full-text;
  • journal article (and other) citations, where all records have the full-text attached;
  • a mixture of the first two above (this is the most common);
  • other types of records, eg. videos, images, or listings of people or companies.

A DATABASE PLATFORM is a company that provides access to a number of databases, via a search interface unique to that company, where the databases can be searched/browsed individually or together.

 Two examples are:

journal articles & library databases

Searching in a database

Finding full-text

If an article has full-text available within a database a link will be displayed.

IF THERE IS NO FULL-TEXT LINK click the Find it at CSU link to search for the full article in other CSU subscribed databases.

Follow the prompts to access the article, if available, in another database.

If you are having trouble getting the full-text of an item, please contact the Library.