Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open access publishing

Open Access publishing & education resources (OER)

Publishing at Charles Sturt University

When publishing at Charles Sturt it is recommended that you first check that the journal is in:

The CSU Research Productivity Index (CSU login required) allocate points depending on type of publication. 

Finding OA journals

The journal options flowchart (pdf) published by Open Access Australasia is a useful starting point, but there are a number of tools and services that may help you find a suitable open access journal in which to publish:

Directory of open access journals hosted by Lund University, Sweden, with details about '... 12000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities'. A 'community-curated' list of journals with standards for inclusion, aimed at ensuring credibility as research publications. Directory entries include article processing charges (APC) and Creative Commons licences.

Database of journals and country scientific metrics indexed in the Scopus database. Search results can be limited to open access journals.

Database of publisher copyright and self-archiving policies

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory is a database providing detailed information about serials (periodicals) published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. covering nearly 1000 subjects. Search results can be filtered to only list open access publications.
 
The are different levels of Open Access, associated with reader rights; reuse rights; copyright; author or automatic posting rights of copies to a repository or website; and machine readability [crawling by search engines]. These different levels of access are described in the HowOpenIsIt? guide published by SPARC and the PLoS.
 
Other sources
Some  Library database publishers also provide lists of journals that that they index, that include open access status. Contact a Faculty Librarian for help with accessing this information.

Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.Acknowledgement of Country

Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.