Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

JST409 Research Skills Guide: Use Journal Databases

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

  • Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • Help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results

One the Library's Journal Databases page, databases are grouped into subject areas. The Emergency Management, Policing and Public Safety collection will be particularly useful for your study.

ACTIVITY

Go to the ProQuest Criminal Justice database and try typing in (heuristics OR bias) AND investigat* AND police or some other keywords identified in your topic analysis (you may need to sign in first with your CSU username and password). 

  • Did you get less results than Primo Search?  Being a Justice Studies & Policing database, they should be more relevant to your topic.
  • Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
  • If you cannot find the full text click on the Find it at CSU button to check if the article is available elsewhere.
     

You can refer back to the Search Strategies page for some common search tips.

Understanding Databases

Need some help with understanding how to use databases? See our Database Help Library Resource Guide.

journal articles & library databases

Searching in a database