Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EHR213 Research Skills Guide: Use Journal Databases

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

  • Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results

You can find the Library's databases on the Journal Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. The Exercise Science Databases will be particularly useful for your study.

Which database should I choose?

CSU Library subscribes to a number of databases which should have journal articles and other resources on exercise science. Here are a few of them:

See a complete list of Exercise Science Journal Databases on the Library website.

TRY IT NOW

Go to the SPORTDisus with Full Text database, and try typing in  – psychological skills training and your chosen sport-specific population (you may need to sign in first with your CSU username and password). Here is an example, for you:

  • Did you get less results than Primo Search and Google Scholar?  Being a Exercise Science database, they should be more relevant to your topic.
  • Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
  • If you cannot find the full text click on the Find it at CSU button to check if the article is available elsewhere.

Searching in a database

Full text

Sometimes you will read that a database is 'full text', or that an article can be found in 'full text'. 'Full text' means that the entire document is available online. When a database carries an article in full text there will be a hyperlink to view it as either a PDF or html document. Not all journal databases contain full text.

If an article is not available in full text you may be able to locate it in another database. Clicking on the Find it button will allow you to check if the article is available elsewhere. 

Want to learn more about journal databases?

  • The Library holds a series of Online Library Workshops, some of these focus on journal database searching. 
  • We also have a Databases Help guide that contains a wealth of information on using journal databases.