It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A searchable database of the best health-care evidence, where articles are pre-appraised for quality and clinical relevance. Free, but registration is required.
Journal Databases - for arange of materials including systematic reviews, clinical practice guidelines, and randomised controlled trials:
Recognised as the premier international index of biomedical literature, and available here in the Ovid platform..
Effectively the public equivalent of MEDLINE, and free to all users.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL stands for Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. It is available to CSU users in the EBSCOhost platform.
Produced by the American Psychological Association and available in the Ovid platform.
Abstraction Journals - contain summaries of systematic reviews or of single studies:
ACP Journal Club
This journal is available as an Ovid database. It consists of two journals, now merged: ACP Journal Club and Evidence-Based Medicine. Each record in the database is an abstract and commentary on an individual study or review. The abstract and commentary is available in full-text, with a citation for the original item.
Evidence-Based Mental Health
This eJournal contains commentaries on articles of clinical relevance to psychiatrists and psychologists. Each commentary summarises an article's key findings and implications for clinical practice. Available in various databases so the link here is to the Primo Search record, from where you can choose your preferred access.
As for the journal above, this eJournal contain commentaries on articles of relevance to best nursing practice. Each commentary summarises key findings and implications for clinical practice. Available in various databases so the link here is to the Primo Search record, from where you can choose your preferred access.
BMJ Clinical Evidence
Ceased in June 2016 (replaced by BMJ Best Practice) but available free online in PubMed Central. Articles summarise current knowledge about clinical conditions but don't make recommendations
Clinical Practice Guidelines - these sites provide specialised access:
Australian Clinical Practice Guidelines portal
Access to clinical practice guidelines produced for Australian practice and assessed against selection criteria, from the Australian NHMRC (National Health and Medical Research Council).
Grey literature "refers to print or electronic literature that is produced by government, academia, business and industry, and is not controlled by commercial publishers ... i.e. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body." (ICGL Luxembourg definition, 1997. Expanded in New York, 2004.)
Grey literature does not form a part of traditional publishing, and is not widely disseminated. It can include a huge range of resources form theses and dissertations, through conference proceedings, government documents, and research reports to digital repositories and registers of clinical trials.
Specialty databases for conferences - see Web of Science Core Collectionfor access to the Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities.
General Internet searching - note that you can use Google Advanced Search to specify that results come from a particular type of website (eg .gov or .edu) and/or to search by file type.
Charles Sturt University acknowledges the traditional custodians of the lands on which its campuses are located, paying respect to Elders, both past and present, and extend that respect to all First Nations Peoples.
Charles Sturt University is an Australian University, TEQSA Provider Identification: PRV12018. CRICOS Provider: 00005F.