Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AHT101 Research Skills Guide: Use Journal Databases

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases are collections of journals, articles, conference papers, reports, and more, generally arranged by subject. Some will only list abstracts of their collection – ie, they will tell you about the item, but you have to find it somewhere else, and some will hold the item itself.

Journal databases are:

  • Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
  • help you locate peer reviewed articles
  • Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
  • Have many options for refining results, and link between themselves, so that an abstract found in one database can help you find the full text if it is held elsewhere.

You can find the Library's databases on the Journal Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. To find journal databases relevant to your area of study take a look at the Agriculture & Wine Science journal databases page.

Searching in a database

Activity

In the Academic Search Complete database (EBSCOhost), try searching for the keywords – soybean AND industry OR commercial AND Australia* (* is a truncation symbol, see the Search Strategies page for more information).

  • Did you get less results than Primo Search and Google Scholar? Being an Agriculture & wine sciences database, they should be more relevant to your topic.
  • Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
  • If you cannot find the full text click on the Find it button to check if the article is available elsewhere.