Library Guides: Australian Graduate School of Policing and Security Research Skills Guide: Use Journal Databases

Why Should You Use Journal Databases?

Journal databases:

Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
help you locate peer reviewed articles
Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
Have many options for refining results

You can find the Library's databases on the A-Z Databases page.

Databases are grouped into subject areas. The Policing, Security & Emergency Management and Law & Government lists will be particularly useful for your study.The Indigenous Studies databases may also be helpful as well.

Key Journal Databases

See a complete list of A-Z Databases: Policing, Security & Emergency Management on the Library website.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A huge multi-disciplinary database in the EBSCOhost platform that covers just about all the disciplines and subjects taught and studied at Charles Sturt University.

It includes article records and summaries from more than 12,500 full-text periodicals, and of these, more than 8,500 have full-text as well. There are also records and summaries from more than 13,200 other publications, including books, reports, and conference proceedings.

Subjects covered include nearly all areas of academic study, including arts & literature, business, computer sciences, education, engineering, environmental science, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, science, social sciences, and theology.

Coverage varies with publication title but extends back to 1887.

The database is updated daily.

Academic Research Complete is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. EBSCOhost also has a number of subject-specific databases, and the Library gives access to packages of subject-related databases in EBSCOhost.

Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
Australian Criminology Database (CINCH) This link opens in a new window
Australian database of citations and article summaries, with some full-text. Produced by the JV Barry Library, Australian Institute of Criminology. The link here will take you to the Informit platform with CINCH selected. See more ... below.

CINCH indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime and criminal justice in Australia.

Specific topics covered include corrections; crime; crime prevention; criminal law; criminology; juvenile justice; law enforcement; police; and victims of crime.

Source documents include journal articles, books and book chapters; conference papers, government documents, book reviews, and theses. Statistical publications in serial form such as annual statistical reviews are also included.

Your searching from this link will be within CINCH only. You can change the database(s) you are searching using the Change Databases button. Unless you have changed databases, you will continue to search in CINCH. When you have run a search, your results list will include, at the top, which database(s) you have searched in.

You can use Basic Search or Advanced Search. Advanced Search offers more options for searching, and more limiters. When you have run a search, there are further options for filtering your results. For searching help, there is a useful set of Search Tips at the bottom of the Advanced Search Screen.

Coverage is from 1968 present.
Australian Disaster Resilience Knowledge Hub This link opens in a new window
The Australian Disaster Resilience Knowledge Hub (the 'Knowledge Hub') is a national, open-source platform that supports and informs policy, planning, decision making and contemporary good practice in disaster resilience.

The Knowledge Hub highlights current and emerging themes in the resilience sector, linking national guidelines with research and fostering collaboration among leading agencies and organisations. The Knowledge Hub also houses information on historical Australian disasters.

The Knowledge Hub is managed by the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience on behalf of the Australian Government, and replaces the Emergency Management Knowledge Hub.
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A database which includes full-text articles; news feeds; reports; summaries; books; FAQs; images; and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security. Available here in the standard EBSCOhost interface.

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center provides a comprehensive open source intelligence resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students.

Content includes: hundreds of thousands of selected articles from full-text journals; news feeds; reports (including Stratfor Analysis, Stratfor Forecasts, and Stratfor Geopolitical Diary); summaries; books; FAQs; and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.

An Images file of over 9,000 pertinent images has been added to the database. You can access this images collection by hovering your mouse over the More heading in the blue bar at the top of the search screen.

ISCTRC is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes.
Judicial Information Research System (JIRS) This link opens in a new window
An online database and research tool developed by the Judicial Commission of NSW containing case law, legislation, sentencing principles, and sentencing statistics and other reference material.

This resource has been developed for judicial officers, the legal profession, the courts, and government agencies involved in the justice system, and is designed to communicate changes to the criminal law in NSW.

It contains both primary and secondary legal reference material. Primary material includes the full-text of judgments from various NSW courts, plus the full-text of NSW and Commonwealth Acts and Regulations, while secondary material includes case summaries, commentary, and online publications such as the Judicial Officers Bulletin.

These primary and secondary sources, and statistics, are available from the left menu in JIRS.

The use of JIRS is subject to the following disclaimer:
To the fullest extent permitted by law, the Judicial Commission of New South Wales, the State of New South Wales, the Crown, the Government of New South Wales and any authors, consultants, editors and other persons involved in the preparation and dissemination of the information in this database give no express or implied warranty of any kind with respect to the information in this database and expressly disclaim all liability (whether by statute, negligence or other tort, in contract or otherwise) to any person with respect to it and any consequences arising from its use or any reliance on it. Without limiting the generality of the above, to the fullest extent permitted by the law, none of the persons named above shall be responsible for any liability with respect to any of the other named persons above. No person should act specifically on the basis of any information in this database without taking and considering professional advice on it.
ProQuest Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Criminal Justice Database is one of many databases available in the ProQuest interface. It covers research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

This database was previously known as ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index (CJPI).

This database indexes more than 250 periodicals, with more than 100 available in full-text. Sources include U.S. and international scholarly journals, corrections and correctional and law enforcement trade publications, and crime blogs, while content includes journal articles, reports, news, and statistics.

Subject coverage includes: addictions; alcoholism; child abuse; corrections & law enforcement; criminal law; criminal justice; criminal rehabilitation; criminology;
gambling; industrial crime; psychology; sociology; and terrorism.

Once you are in the ProQuest interface, you can change to any other ProQuest database, by clicking on the Change databases link at the top left of the search screen. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination.

VAST: Academic Video Online: Criminal Justice & Public Safety
Criminal justice and public safety: administration of justice; corrections; crime prevention; criminology; emergency preparedness; history and theory; law enforcement.

more information... less...

VAST: Academic Video Online: Criminal Justice & Public Safety is a subset of the VAST: Academic Video Online collection of videos produced by Alexander Street Press. It features strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety.

Content includes documentaries, training videos, and interviews.

The collection can be searched using Advanced Search, and/or browsed in a number of ways. The collection has a number of features that assist in its use as an educational resource:

video browse and search capabilities;
multiple points of access: browses, searches, thumbnail images, transcripts;
synchronised, searchable transcripts;
video clip-making tools;
annotated playlists: users can make, annotate, and share playlists and clips, and can include links to materials or resources outside the collection;
sharing of video by embeddable links.

Once in this database you can search/browse in other "disciplines" in the VAST collection. You can also access the full VAST collection at VAST: Academic Video Online. You can search/browse across all the Alexander Street Press video collections at Alexander Street Press Video.

Searching in a database

Activity

Go to the International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center - EBSCOhost interface database window, login and try typing in – "emergency management" AND wildfire

Did you get less results than Primo Search and Google Scholar? Being a discipline-specific database, they should be more relevant to your topic.
Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
If you cannot find the full text click on the button to check if the article is available elsewhere.