Library Guides: PSY309/469 Research Skills Guide: Key Psychology Databases

Psychology Literature databases

PsycINFO [1806 to Present] This link opens in a new window
A database of journal and other citations with some full-text available. Covers the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Produced by the American Psychological Association and available in the Ovid platform.
The database includes material of relevance to psychologists, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Most of the journals in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.

It is primarily an index, but does include some full-text links to items in the Journals@Ovid database.

For information on things like numbers of records and languages/countries represented, see the APA's PsycINFO Factsheet.

This is one of many databases available in the Ovid platform. Once in the Ovid interface, you can change to another database by clicking on the Change link in the main search panel. All Ovid databases can be searched individually or in any combination.

Ovid provides PsycINFO in a number of date-range packages, and also provides PsycARTICLES Full Text , PsycBOOKS, and PsycTESTS.
Proquest Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest database of hundreds of full-text journals and thousands of full-text dissertations, covering a range of psychology disciplines.
Specific subject content includes behavioural, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personal, physiological, and social psychology. Coverage of related disciplines includes genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, and social welfare.

Titles include:

* The American Journal of Psychiatry
* Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics
* The American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry
* Development and Psychopathology
* The Psychological Record.

ProQuest Psychology Database is one of many databases available in the ProQuest platform. Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database by clicking on the hamburger menu at the top left of screen, then on Change databases. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in combination.

ProQuest Social Science Database is another database that might be of interest, while ProQuest Social Science Databases is a package of ProQuest databases all with social sciences material.
MEDLINE ALL (includes MeSH headings) [1946 to Present] This link opens in a new window
This major international health, medicine, and veterinary medicine database is available from Ovid in various packages. The version here includes material from 1946 to current.
MEDLINE is recognised as the premier index of biomedical literature. It includes health and medicine, allied health fields, and veterinary science, plus the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to health care. It is produced by the United States National Library of Medicine and covers thousands of international journals from 1946 - .

It is primarily a database of citations, but the Ovid version includes links to some full text journal titles from the database CSU Full Text Journals@Ovid, listed in the Charles Sturt databases lists as Journals@Ovid CSU Full Text Subscribed.

For the full-text of other items, use the >strong>Find it button to search for the full article via Primo Search.

MEDLINE is provided by Ovid in various date packages. These can be accessed from the Library's list of M-databases or from the Ovid menu of databases.

MEDLINE is very similar to the free and publicly available PubMed.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online provides online full-text access to the hundreds of journals published by SAGE. These journals are in the subject areas of business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Charles Sturt staff and students have some full-text access to most of the journals in this database. In Advanced Search, you can limit your search to Only content I have full access to (or to Open access content only). In your results list, full-text articles are marked with a green open-padlock icon.

You can search within individual journal titles or across the whole database, and browse journals by title, discipline or subject. The 4 disciplines are Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Materials Science & Engineering, and Social Science & Humanities, and each discipline has a number of subjects.

You can use My Tools to create alerts, save citations and searches, and set up "My Favourite Journals".

Coverage varies according to each journal, but in some cases extends as far back as 1879.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
The American Psychiatric Associations online portal to eBooks and eJournals, notably including DSM-5; DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis; and DSM-5 Clinical Cases.
PsychiatryOnline is a web-based portal that features access to 5 eJournals and a small collection of eBooks in the area of psychiatry. Importantly, this portal gives online access to DSM-5.

The main resource available here is the DSM-5 Library,which consists of:

* Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th ed. [DSM-5]
* DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
* DSM-5 Clinical Cases.

Other eBooks available in PsychiatryOnline include:

* The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry
* Gabbard's Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders
* Textbook of Psychotherapeutic Treatments
* The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry
* The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment
* The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychopharmacology
* Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology ...

... while the 5 journals that are available are:

* The American Journal of Psychiatry
* Psychiatric Services
* Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences
* FOCUS
* Psychiatric News.

Other resources include American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines, medication information handouts for patients, and selected materials journal articles and book chapters grouped under Topic headings.

You can search individual resources, or search across a combination of resources (all eBooks, or all eJournals), or search across the whole of PsychiatryOnline. The Advanced Search screen gives a range of search options and limiters.

Note: a mobile app for DSM-5 is available via iTunes Store.
EBSCOhost (Psychology) This link opens in a new window
A package of three EBSCOhost databases, all of which include Psychology-related material and a considerable amount of full-text content.
The databases are:

* Academic Search Complete;
* Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection;
* SocINDEX with Full Text.

All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
SAGE Video - Psychology This link opens in a new window
A collection of hundreds of videos, including documentaries, historical footage, and the accounts of real practitioners and real clients, on all aspects of psychology.
Specific topics include:
• biological/physiological psychology
• clinical/abnormal psychology
• cognitive psychology
• conceptual and historical issues in psychology
• general and applied psychology
• lifespan and developmental psychology
• personality and individual differences
• psychology of aging/gerontology.

You can search the entire collection using Basic or Advanced Search, or browse by Topic, Video Type, or Contributor. Closed captions and transcripts are available.

You can create clips, retrieve and export citations, and build playlists.

For help with using the SAGE Video collections, go to the SAGE Video guide. You can see all the video titles at the Psychology Playlist.

Searching Ovid databases

This search demonstration shows how to search the Ovid Medline database using a PICO question. You can search Ovid PsycINFO using the same search functions to find Literature for your studies in Psychology