It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal databases are collections of journals, articles, conference papers, reports, and more, generally arranged by subject. The strength of journal databases is that they have many options for expanding or refining your search results, and they will link between themselves, so that an abstract found on one database can help you find the full text if it is held elsewhere.
Charles Sturt University subscribes to many Databases on your behalf. These databases have been categorised by subject area to help you find what you're looking for more effectively. There are also some journal databases that Primo Search cannot search.
Why Should You Use Journal Databases?
Are the best source of academic or scholarly information for your assessments
help you locate peer reviewed articles
Are subject specific, so that you get more relevant results
Databases are grouped into subject areas. The Islamic Studies Databases will be particularly useful for your study. Some databases also include electronic books, and the ones relevant to Islamic Studies are included in the list below.
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a not-for-profit online collection of nearly 4,700 eBooks in the humanities. These are presented by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with more than 30 learned societies, and other publishers.
Specific topics covered include: area studies; history; archaeology; art & architectural history; performance, film & media studies; folklore; religion; musicology; political science; literary criticism; sociology; and bibliographical studies.
You can browse this collection by author, title, or subject. There are also various search options including Basic Search, Boolean Search, Proximity Search, and Bibliographic Search.
You can view these books online, or download 10-page excerpts. You may print only for personal research purposes. It is best to print using the PDF viewing option, and you can download or print 10 pages at a time.
You can also access book reviews from major journals.
A collection of more than 50 eBooks covering Middle East and Islamic Studies.
When you follow the link (above) to this collection you will see a list of the 53 eBooks to which CSU Library subscribes. They are marked with a green rectangle to the left of the title. You can filter this list by subject, but most (44) are in the category of Middle East and Islamic Studies.
Clicking on a title takes you to the full eBook, with a link to a PDF of the entire book, and a tab for individual chapters, each one available in HTML or as a PDF.
Please note that if you move away from this list, to browse or search, you will be browsing/searching the entire Brill Online Books and Journals collection, and your results will include non-full-text items.
A package of ProQuest databases all with arts-related material. Includes ProQuests Arts & Humanities Database, and Performing Arts Periodicals Database.
This collection of databases is ProQuests subject area package of 8 databases with arts-related material, plus ProQuest Ebook Central. The list of databases below gives an indication of subject coverage. Some of these databases are the arts subset of a larger database. For example, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Arts is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
Most of these resources contain full-text material. As with all ProQuest databases, where a record in your results does not have the full-text attached, you can use the Find it [at] CSU links to search for the full item elsewhere.
The specific databases are:
* Arts & Humanities Database
* Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: The Arts
* Career & Technical Education Database: The Arts
* India Database: The Arts
* Performing Arts Periodicals Database
* ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Arts
* Religion Database
* Research Library: The Arts.
Once in the ProQuest interface, you can change the database(s) you are searching by clicking on the Change databases link in the breadcrumb trail at the top left of the ProQuest screen. All ProQuest databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
A database of journals and eBooks published by Springer, with much available in full-text. The journals tend to be from the scientific, medical, and scientific disciplines, while the eBooks cover biomedical & life sciences; computer science; earth & environmental science; humanities, social sciences & law; and medicine.
CSU does not subscribe to all the items in this collection.
You can tell which results are available to you in full-text because those that are NOT available are marked with a padlock icon.
If you go to Advanced Search, you can limit your search to full-text only by unticking the box for Include Preview-Only content.
You cant limit a search to journal or book material at the time the search is run. However you can do this from a results list by refining your results by Content Type. There are other refining options for Discipline, Subdiscipline, and Language.
Multi-subject database of journal articles, with most available in full-text.
Taylor & Francis Online is a one-stop site hosting the full text of hundreds of eJournals published by a range of publishers including Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press, Lawrence Erlbaum, Haworth Press, and Multilingual Matters.
From the home page you can search using Basic or Advanced Search, or browse for journals by subject category. Most of the subjects taught at CSU are represented in the list of 30 disciplines. Advanced Search offers a range of searching options and limiters, and a Citation Search.
One of the benefits of Taylor & Francis Online, to CSU users, is that it closes the embargo gap for a large number of eJournals that are otherwise available via EBSCOhost - that is, it provides the full-text of recent issues of journals which are not available (for the most recent 12 months) in EBSCOhost.
While most articles are available in full, a standard search might return results that are citation-only. In your results list, full-text availability is indicated by a white tick in a green triangle at the bottom right of the brief record. If you get a result where there is no full-text available, click on the Find it - CSU link to search for the full item in other CSU-subscribed resources.
Results lists include a tick-box refiner for Only show content I have full access to.
TRY IT NOW
Go to theProQuest Religion database, and try typing in – "Prophet Muhammad" AND "social reforms" (you may need to sign in first with your Charles Sturt University username and password).
Did you get less results than Primo Search? Being a Religious Studies database, they should be more relevant to your topic.
Look at the HTML and PDF links to access the full text of the article.
If you cannot find the full text click on the button to check if the article is available elsewhere.
A database of more than 150 religion-related journals, most of them available with full-text content.
ProQuest describes the content of this database as full-text, scholarly, and designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections.
ProQuest Religion Database covers formal theological studies but also general commentary on many worldwide religions. Sources include religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organisations, while content includes religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history. There are journals in subjects related to religious studies, including philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives.
Specific subjects include: religion; religious studies; Christianity; Judaism; Buddhism; Islam; Hinduism; Mormonism; Bahaism; Catholicism; Protestantism (including the major denominations); Evangelism; Pentecostalism; Sikhism; Shinto; and Jainism; and Eastern Orthodoxy.
This EBSCOhost database has more than 300 full-text journals, and covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
This is an almost entirely full-text database: most articles have the full-text attached. Articles are available in HTML full-text or (searchable) PDF format.
Coverage varies, with some full text content from 1975- .
You might also be interested in EBSCOhost's ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials. Because it's in the same platform, you can search it and Religion and Philosophy Collection at the same time. (Go to Choose Databases and tick the boxes for both databases.)
OSO eBooks has a selection of scholarly eBooks covering mainly subjects in the humanities and social sciences, including law, religion, and philosophy & ethics.
Other subjects covered include political science, psychology, social work, business & management, biology, history, economics & finance, public health & epidemiology, linguistics, and literature.
CSU has full-text access to most of the items in this collection. Full-text availability is indicated by a green unlocked-padlock icon.
You can search using a simple search or Advanced Search, or you can browse by subject. When you have done a search or a browse, you can refine results using the Narrow Your Choices panel on the left of screen. Refining options include Availability, Recently Published, and Subject.
Your results will be in the form of book titles, with a contents list of chapters/sections. Each chapter/section is available in HTML, with a small link to View PDF at the right of screen.
An EBSCOhost database of article and essay citations covering religion and theology, produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA). It includes the full-text of more than 100 journals.
This resource combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. It has the full-text of more than 380,000 articles and book reviews.
Subject coverage includes biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues, and incorporates a wide selection of Christian traditions (including Catholic, Orthodox, Protestant, Evangelical, and Pentecostal), plus Islam, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Shinto, Taoism, Confucianism, and other religious traditions.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is one of many databases available in EBSCOhost, which also includes the Religion and Philosophy Collection. Once on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.