It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A ProQuest database that includes thousands of scholarly and trade journals, plus other related content, with most in full-text, covering business, management, and finance.
Specific topics covered include business, economic conditions, accounting, finance, corporate strategies, management theory and techniques, marketing, business trends, product development and information, and industry conditions.
Included in the database is the Wall Street Journal, with full-text access back to 1984.
The database also includes non-periodical content such as EIU ViewsWire - covering business and economic events from across the globe - and ProQuest Business Dissertations - access to over 18,000 full-text doctoral dissertations and masters theses.
Database coverage is from 1971 current.
ABI/INFORM Collection actually consists of three subsidiary databases: ABI/INFORM Dateline; ABI/INFORM Global; and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. Once you are in the ProQuest platform, you can change to any other ProQuest database(s) by clicking on the Change databases, or Databases, tab at the top left of any ProQuest screen. The databases are listed in a hierarchy. There is a broader collection of databases in the business area: ProQuests subject package of Business Databases.
CompanyProfile - Enter the company name into the Advanced search box and limit to Company Profile from Document Type box.
Country Information : Go to the Advanced Search option. Enter the country name into the first search box and select LOCATION or LOC from the "in" drop down menu.Enter the term "country report" into the second search box. Select the checkbox Reports from the Document Type box below.
Industry Report - Enter industry into the Advance search box and limit to Industry Report and/or Market Report or and/or Market Research from Document Type box.
An EBSCOhost database which includes the full-text of more than 1600 full-text journals and of more than 1500 trade journals and general business magazines, plus other non-journal content.
Subject areas covered include: management; finance; international business; economics; accounting; marketing; and tourism.
Coverage (not necessarily full-text) extends back to 1886; updating is daily.
This database is one of many available in EBSCOhost. It is also available to CSU users as part of the EBSCOhost (Business) package. Once you are on the EBSCOhost search screen, you can change databases by clicking on the Choose Databases link above the search boxes. All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
Company Profiles - Click on More from the drop down menu in the top toolbar above the search box and select Company Profiles or selectCompany Information link in the top toolbar.
Country Reports : Enter the country name into search box and select GE Geographic Term from the drop down Select a Field menu. Select 'Country Report' from the Publication Type box below.
Industry Reports - Enter the name of an industry into the search box and limit to Industry Profile and/or Market Research Report from the Publication Type box.
A global news and business information service, with most material available in full-text. It covers science, health, education, the humanities, and other subjects but has a focus on business, including business news, and company and industry research.
Factiva is produced by Dow Jones, a leading global provider of economic and financial information.
The database has full-text content from newspapers, newswires, business journals, market research reports, analyst reports, and websites.
It includes material from :
* Australian newspapers, including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald, and Business Review Weekly
* US newspapers, including The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal
* Magazines, journals and trade publications, including Forbes and Newsweek
* Newswires, including AFP, Reuters, and Dow Jones
* company reports
* other content including TV and radio podcasts; and major news and business information websites, blogs and message boards.
Coverage varies but goes back as far as 1980.
There is a useful online Help Guide available from ProQuest. It includes help pages on Simple Search, Search Builder (CSU's subscription defaults to Search Builder), Results pages, Companies/Markets, and Sample Searches.
NOTE: CSU Library has only 3 concurrent-user licences to Factiva. If you can't get access, try again later.
CompanySnapshot- From the Companies/Markets tab select Company. Search by company name, DUNS, Registration ID or Ticker.
Industry Snapshots- From the "Companies/Markets" tab select Industry and choose the type of industry you are interested in from the list.
Previously known as D&B Global Business Browser and before that as OneSource: Global Business Browser, this database provides a range of public and private company and industry information, worldwide and from the Asia Pacific and Australia/New Zealand regions.
It includes information on millions of public and private companies, and on millions of executives across all levels and functions. The aim is to provide access to more than 100 million global company records and more than 80 million global contacts.
Company information includes a company's business focus, profile, history, competition, strengths and weaknesses, executives, announcements, news coverage, and financial health. Company records now include Dun & Bradstreet data, including D-U-N-S Numbers.
Other content includes news, business and trade articles, analyst reports, SWOTs, executive profiles, industry intelligence, industry statistics, and financial data.
The update schedule varies according to the source. For example, news is updated every 30 minutes on an intra-day feed, whereas some information such as market research reports are updated monthly.
When you first log in you might see a Preferences Setup screen. You can change certain preferences here if you like, and then click on Continue.
Covering marketing and advertising, Warc is an online marketing information service, with a range of full-text resources including forecasts, case studies, best practice guides, industry trends, news, conference proceedings, and journal articles.
Warc takes its name from its previous full name, World Advertising Research Centre. It is a privately owned organisation headquartered in London.
Warc describes itself as a comprehensive marketing information service for the global marketing, advertising, media, research and academic communities. It provides authoritative forecasts of advertising expenditure for all major economies, and also provides case studies, best practice guides, marketing intelligence, consumer insight, industry trends, and news from around the world.
Material is drawn from Warcs own researchers and correspondents, but also from over 50 global sources, including Account Planning Group, the ARF, the Advertising Federation of Australia, Effie Worldwide, ESOMAR, Euromonitor, and The Futures Company.
Warc also publishes 5 magazines and journals - Admap, Market Leader, International Journal of Advertising, Journal of Advertising Research, and International Journal of Market Research. These and other journals and conference proceedings are available in full-text in Warc.
To find country related information:
Under the Topics menu option you can browse content by Topic, Industry sector or Geographies. Select Geographies and chose your target country or region to find the latest case studies, articles and most read information.
You could also enter into the search box the product or service you are interested in and then limit the results by Country.
IBISWorld is a private company which specialises in company and industry research. The collection here consists of Australian company and industry reports and analyses.
IBISWorld claims to be the world's largest publisher of industry research. It compiles reports covering 5 of the world's major economies, but the subscription here is to Australian company and industry reports and research. The main products are the Australia Industry Reports and the Australia Company Reports.
Of the 13 modules listed on the home page, CSU subscribes to the following:
* Australia Industry Reports (ANZSIC) - 30-40 page reports on 500 Australian industries, covering key statistics, and analyses of markets, operating conditions, performance and major industry participants.
* Australia Specialized Industry Reports - a further collection of reports for industries that don't necessarily fit into official classifications, particularly including emerging verticals and technology industries.
* Australia Business Environment Profiles - 2-3 page profiles covering external factors - such as weather conditions, government policies, commodity prices, and consumer attitudes which affect industry and market performance.
* Australia Company Reports - profiles of the 2000 largest Australian and New Zealand companies and businesses, including at a minimum: company details, key personnel, financials, segments & industries, shareholders, subsidiaries, and service providers. Premium reports also include extra detail including company activities, cross directorships, industry ratios, and an analysis of the competitive environment.
You can search the entire collection by keyword, company, or code. Search results are organised by modules (as above) but might include results from non-subscribed modules. Alternatively, you can choose to browse or search within each of the modules listed above.
Australian online business directory. The link here gives combined access to Whos Who in Australia, Whos Who in Business in Australia, and Margaret Gees Australian Media Guide, which can be searched individually or in combination.
Who's Who In Business in Australia is a companion to Who's Who in Australia, and is one of three biographical and directory resources published by AAP Directories (a division of Australian Associated Press) and available online to CSU users via ConnectWeb:
* Who's Who in Australia
* Who's Who in Business in Australia
* Margaret Gee's Australian Media Guide.
The link here is to a search screen for all three resources. You can search all three at once, or in different combinations. To search only Who's Who in Business in Australia, un-tick the boxes for the other two.
If you navigate away from the search screen and wish to return to it, click on the prominent "View our database" button at top left of screen.
Who's Who in Business in Australia is is a comprehensive directory of prominent people and organisations within business and industry in Australia. Entries for companies include interactive website and email links as well as details of location, branches, subsidiaries, key staff, and brand names. Entries for people include occupation, professional appointments, career, education, awards, achievements, and recreations.
This resource is updated daily.
AnnualReports.com Links to company websites listed on the following exchanges: AIM, AMES, ASX, LSE, NASDAQ, NYSE, OTC, TSX, TSX-V
ASCIC Connectfree online company information which includes basic details such as registration date, status and current address.
Yahoo Finance - wide range of stockmarket and finance information including media reports, market share data.
Industry classification systems are used by government and business for classifying industries by numerical code. Use the following websites to find the industry code you are researching:
ANZSICAustralian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification was produced by the Australian Bureau of Statistics and Statistics New Zealand. ANZSIC codes are searchable in the IBISWorld Australian Industry Reports.
GICSGlobal Industry Classification Standard is a joint Standard and Poor’s/Morgan Stanley Capital International product aimed at standardising industry definitions. All entities listed on the Australian Stock Exchange (ASX) are now classified using the GICS classification system.
NAICSThe North American Industry Classification System was adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial Classification system (SIC). Databases such Factiva, Proquest and Ebsco allow searching by NAICS codes.
SIC The Standard Industrial Classification System was replaced by the NAICS, which was released in 1997. Because SIC is still used by by some government bodies and in some markets, a number of databases allow searching by SIC code.
Adopted from The University of Melbourne LibGuide, retrieved from https://unimelb.libguides.com/company_industry and RMIT University LibGuide, retrieved from https://rmit.libguides.com/industryinfo