It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Offers access to eBooks in two main subject areas: business, management, and economics; and social sciences.
CSU Library subscribes to both journals and eBooks in Emerald Insight. The link here takes you to our subscribed eBooks (the green-square icon indicated access). These are presented in the form of 143 book series, each series then consisting of a number of volumes.
If you search, you have the option to search just journals, or just book series, or both, and you have the option to search all content or only content you have access to.
Specific topics covered by the eBooks series include accounting & finance, education, health & social care, library & information science, marketing, sociology, transport, and tourism & hospitality.
A package of five EBSCOhost databases, all of which include Business-related material and a considerable amount of full-text content. Includes the important business database, Business Source Complete.
The databases are:
* Academic Search Complete;
* Business Source Complete;
* Health Business Fulltext Elite;
* Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection;
* SocINDEX with Full Text.
All EBSCOhost databases can be searched individually or in any combination.
A searchable archive of full-text journals, covering all subject areas. It is an archive of back-files only and does not include current issues. The collection also includes eBooks.
In the case of the eJournals, each journal publisher has determined what years will be available within the database. In some instances publishers have excluded only the current year. In other cases the publisher might have excluded the current and preceding two, three or four years. But the database contains literally hundreds of full-text journals, some of which are available over quite lengthy periods.
CSU does not subscribe to all the journals or all the eBooks but, when you search, you should see only content with a Read and download access level, meaning available in full-text. There is an option to display All content, and your results list will then include non-full-text items, designated with a cross icon to the left of the record.
In Advanced Search you can narrow by Item type, with options including articles, and books.
You can also browse by title, publisher, or subject.
OSO eBooks has a selection of scholarly eBooks covering mainly subjects in the humanities and social sciences, including law, religion, and philosophy & ethics.
Other subjects covered include political science, psychology, social work, business & management, biology, history, economics & finance, public health & epidemiology, linguistics, and literature.
CSU has full-text access to most of the items in this collection. Full-text availability is indicated by a green unlocked-padlock icon.
You can search using a simple search or Advanced Search, or you can browse by subject. When you have done a search or a browse, you can refine results using the Narrow Your Choices panel on the left of screen. Refining options include Availability, Recently Published, and Subject.
Your results will be in the form of book titles, with a contents list of chapters/sections. Each chapter/section is available in HTML, with a small link to View PDF at the right of screen.
You can also try the Library's main, multi-subject collection, of eBooks ...
ProQuest Ebook Central, previously known as EBL, is a huge and constantly growing multidisciplinary collection of eBooks. Thousands of EBL titles have been purchased for permanent use. You can also access a number of titles not yet purchased by CSU Library.
You can access eBooks in ProQuest Ebook Central under one of 3 lending "models":
* Unlimited concurrent users (multi-user);
* Non-linear lending: unlimited concurrent users, but limited to 325 "loans" in a year;
* Textbook: limited to a maximum of 3 concurrent users.
You can read books online, or download for periods varying from 1 to 7 days. If you wish to download an EBL eBook to your computer, you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions. To download to a device, you need a free app: Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).
Arrangements for viewing and downloading eBooks vary according to the collection they are in.
Generally, you can read an eBook online using the "read online" interface in the collection, or download the eBook to your computer or mobile device. Downloading to your computer requires the free software Adobe Digital Editions, while downloading to a device requires a free app - Bluefire Reader or Aldiko Book Reader (for android only).
There are sometimes limits on the number of concurrent users for an eBook, and often limits on how much you can print and copy.
For more assistance with finding and using eBooks, see the Library Resource Guide on eBooks.