Library Guides: Marketing: Web & media

Web resources

ABS The Australian Bureau of Statistics

Advertising Age Leading global advertising and marketing news publication. This free access version includes blogs and other features.

A.C. Neilsen (Australia) Market research company. Some of its latest market research surveys are available for free.

Australian Screen An audiovisual collection of Australian advertising campaigns from the 1920s - 1980s.

Business.gov.au - Marketing plan template and guide Free resources including marketing plan template and other resources to help build your marketing strategy provided by the Australian Government.

Roy Morgan Research is Australia’s best known and longest established market research company, with a range of market research resources including values segments.

Professional organisations

Asia-Pacific Professional Services Marketing Association
APSMA represents professional services marketers in the Asia Pacific region. Members include marketers and business development experts in legal, accounting, engineering, business consulting and recruitment firms.
Association for data-driven marketing and advertising
ADMA provides advocacy to Government and regulators, education, events and awards, codes of practice and is a rich source of online and offline resources.
Australia and New Zealand Marketing Academy
ANZMAC aims to provide an organisation for educators and practitioners interested in marketing theory and research.
Australian Association of National Advertisers
AANA is the peak national body for advertisers and represents the interests of organisations involved in Australia’s advertising, marketing and media industry.
Australian Market and Social Research Society
A not-for-profit body, AMSRS assists members to develop their careers by heightening professional standards and ethics in the fields of market and social research.
Australian Marketing Institute
AMI represents marketing professionals across a range of marketing disciplines, business functions and industries. It ensures the standards for maketing professional conduct, tertiary accreditation and ethical dealing are current and appropriate.
Word of Mouth Marketing Association
WOMMA is the official trade association dedicated to word of mouth and social media marketing. Advocating for ethical word of mouth marketing practices through education, professional development opportunities, and knowledge sharing with top industry marketers.

Library Media Databases

Informit EduTV
Australian database of streaming videos from free-to-air and pay-TV, selected for tertiary institutions.

Lecturers and students can find and instantly watch Australian television content.

Features of this database include:
* Instant streaming access to more than 10,000 programs via computer, tablet, or smartphone;
* Archive of programs from 2006, with up to 80 new programs added weekly;
* Content which includes documentaries, drama, series, and more from both free-to-air and pay-TV;
* Study guides and articles to complement the programs.

Please note that Informit EduTV uses a different interface from the Informit bibliographic databases and Informits media database, TVNews. You can browse EduTV by learning areas or you can use basic or advanced search. You can access study guides from the Resources tab.

In Informit EduTV, you can register in order to access personalised functions such as adding favourites, and creating clips and playlists. (Look for the Register link at the top right of the Informit EduTV screen.) You can register using any email address, as long as you do so having accessed (and logged in to) the database from a CSU Library webpage.
TVNews
A searchable database of Australian free-to-air television news, current affairs, and (selected) documentary programs, available as digitised video.

TVNews is an Informit Media database, available via Informit Online. It can be searched in combination with other Informit databases.

It provides video from television news and current affairs programs, and selected documentaries, from the Australian free-to-air networks. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed and have detailed summaries. TVNews is updated daily, with stories from an evening news broadcast generally being available the next morning.

The video for each story or documentary is available in WMV format as a progressive download, allowing viewing to begin before the total video file is transferred. Items range in duration from less than 30 seconds for short news stories, to more than 60 minutes for selected documentaries. Transcripts are NOT included.

Coverage is from August 2007- present.
ANZ Newsstream
A ProQuest database featuring the full-text of Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Previously called ANZ Newsstand

This database includes titles from Fairfax (including The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald) and News Ltd (including The Australian, The Adelaide Advertiser, and The Herald Sun), plus leading regional and local newspaper titles from Australia and New Zealand, and transcripts and wire feeds from ABC programs.

Coverage varies, but most newspaper content is available from the mid- to late-nineties.

Other databases with online full-text newspaper content are Trove, Factiva, and Newspaper Source Plus.
Factiva
A global news and business information service, with most material available in full-text. It covers science, health, education, the humanities, and other subjects but has a focus on business, including business news, and company and industry research.

Factiva is produced by Dow Jones, a leading global provider of economic and financial information.

The database has full-text content from newspapers, newswires, business journals, market research reports, analyst reports, and websites.

It includes material from :
* Australian newspapers, including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald, and Business Review Weekly
* US newspapers, including The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal
* Magazines, journals and trade publications, including Forbes and Newsweek
* Newswires, including AFP, Reuters, and Dow Jones
* company reports
* other content including TV and radio podcasts; and major news and business information websites, blogs and message boards.

Coverage varies but goes back as far as 1980.

There is a useful online Help Guide available from ProQuest. It includes help pages on Simple Search, Search Builder (CSU's subscription defaults to Search Builder), Results pages, Companies/Markets, and Sample Searches.

NOTE: CSU Library has only 3 concurrent-user licences to Factiva. If you can't get access, try again later.